Image of Tony Arnold

2017 Winner Named

Playwright Michael Weller '65 is the 2017 recipient of the Brandeis Creative Arts Award and has engaged in a yearlong residency at Brandeis University.


Recognizing Excellence in the Arts

The Brandeis Creative Arts Award recognizes excellence in the arts and the lives and works of distinguished, active American artists. The award was established in 1956, just eight years after the University’s founding, at a time when there was no comparable award in higher education. The first recipients were Stuart Davis, for painting; Hallie Flanagan Davis, for theater; and William Carlos Williams, for poetry. Subsequent recipients included Aaron Copland, Gunther Schuller, Mark Rothko, Georgia O’Keeffe, Sam Shepard and Twyla Tharp. Tony Arnold (pictured above) received the award in music in 2015.

The Creative Arts Award and residency, a program of the Brandeis Division of Creative Arts, is made possible by the Poses Fund.