Have Some News to Share?

Please use this form to give us your updates. They will appear in our next issue.

Alumni News

Photo of students and alumni
Foundation for Jewish Camp Leaders Assembly, March 2014.
Front L-R: Edana Appel '15, Sabrina Taran '15, Lauren Fredman '14, Hannah Sherman '14, Evan Taksar '15. Rear L-R: Dan Lange '13, Noah Zaves '14, Jessica Levine Rothbart '10, Josh Sternburg '09, Aliza Goodman '09, Katie Quinn '11, Jared Goldlust '10

Alumni Updates

Harvey Raben '73 and his wife Sandy Feinstein Raben '73 are living in Austin TX and are immersed professionally in the educational program of Congregation Agudas Achim. Harvey is Director of Congregational Learning. Harvey.raben@gmail.com

Elinor Josephson '81 is now working for the Mandel JCC of the Palm Beaches in Florida as Program Director.  She is also still assisting at 6 Points Sport Academy. elinorj@jcconline.com

Linda Myers '83 is the Advancement Director at Carnegie Mellon University. ljmyers@andrew.cmu.edu

Fay Gorosch '84 moved to Sweden in 2006, and established a kosher catering business in 2007. She does fancy kiddushim, Bar-Bat Mitzva, weddings, birthdays, graduation parties, etc. Her two sons are now 18 and 20. fgorosch@gmail.com

Beth Bernstein '90 has been promoted to the position of Executive Director of the Brandeis National Committee at Brandeis University. bernstein@brandeis.edu

Amy Blaszkowsky '91 recently became Director of Admissions at Maimonides School in Brookline, MA. blaszkowskyami@comcast.net

Jeffrey Richard '96 has become Executive Vice President for the American Technion Society. jeffrey.h.richard@gmail.com

Sharon (Janowitz) Rifkind '98 has recently taken a new position as the Director of Development and Communications for Torah Academy of Bergen County (TABC) in Teaneck, NJ. She continues to live in Teaneck with her husband, Michael and four kids. sjrifkind@gmail.com

Jennifer Zwilling '98 has accepted the position of Vice President for Strategic Initiatives at Hillel: The Foundation for Jewish Campus Life, Charles and Lynn Schusterman International Center. jzwilling@hillel.org

Zohar Raviv '00, international VP of education for Birthright Israel International, met with Hornstein students this past January in Israel. His topic: Education for Jewish Peoplehood - in Israel and the Diaspora. zoharr@taglitbri.com

Alison Kur '02, executive director of Jewish living at Temple Beth Elohim in Wellesley, MA, was recently awarded the prestigious 2014 Covenant Award for Excellence in Jewish Education. [read more]

Josh Hacker '04 is now a Senior Development Officer at Ontario Association of Food Banks. josh@oafb.ca

Sean Mandell '04 is the Founder and Principal at Constellation Consult in San Francisco. info@constellationconsult.com

Congratulations to Dr. Eric Fleisch '08 who successfully defended his dissertation in March. fleisch@brandeis.edu

Jason Harris '08 is very excited about his new position as Birthright Experience Program Manager at Jewish Federation of San Francisco. He will be involved with leadership training and connecting participants with post-trip opportunities – and he will be staffing trips to Israel! jasonh@sfjcf.org

Adam Kancher '08 is now the Director of Alumni Relations at Tulane Law School. kancher@gmail.com

Yishai Ashkenazi '09 and wife Livia are pleased to welcome a new son who was born in February. Yishai.neshima@gmail.com

Phil Brodsky '10 will be transitioning in as the new Executive Director of The David Project over this summer. pbrodsky@gmail.com

Jared Goldlust '10 is pleased to announce his marriage to Rikki Bennie on August 28, 2013. The wedding was held in Jaffa, Israel. jared@campkadimah.com

Jordyn Rozensky '10 is now Blog Manager and Development Writer at Keshet. jrrozensky@gmail.com

Malka Travaglini '10 is the Associate Program Officer at the Klarman Family Foundation.

Vlad Khaykin '11 moved to San Francisco in January and began work at the Anti Defamation League as the Associate Director of the Central Pacific Region. vkhaykin@adl.org

Tzvi Raviv '11, proud father of six-month-old Hadassa, is now the Managing Director of Lis Ventures LLC. He also reports that he will soon be joining the board of  NEXTGen Detroit – the federation department ​that includes Community Birthright, CommunityNEXT, and the Young Adult Division (YAD) – and is involved with the organization Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America (IAVA)​. ​raviv.zvi@gmail.com

Katie Schlussel Katz '11 is pleased to announce her marriage to Ezra Katz on September 1, 2013 in Pearl River, NY. She has also been recently named as Manager, Capital Campaign at Senior Home Lifecare. kschlussel@jewishhome.org

Rebecca Shapiro '11 is pleased to announce her engagement to Rabbi Jeremy Ruberg. And it’s a small world – Jeremy’s mother is Miriam Brunn Ruberg, Hornstein Class of 76. Rebecca@myjsc.org

Dan Lange '13 has recently become the Associate Director of North American Camping at the Union for Reform Judaism in New York. LangeDan@gmail.com

Tslil Shtulsaft '13 will be starting a new position as the Director of Graduate Student Network at the Hillel of Greater Philadelphia on August 1. He'll be working with students at all of the graduate programs in the city, an area of considerable growth for both the Hillel network and the city. tslilkoosh@gmail.com

Lauren Fredman '14 will start after Memorial Day as Camp Director and BBYO Director at the I. J. & Jeanne Wagner Jewish Community Center in Salt Lake City, Utah. lrfredman@gmail.com

Elisheva Massel '14 will start soon as an Associate, Federations and Foundations Relations, for the Birthright Israel Foundation in New York. emassel@brandeis.edu

Geo Poor '14 has been accepted into the Pardes Institute for Fall 2014. geopoor2@gmail.com

Jason Pressberg '14 will be moving to New York to serve as the Associate Director of Special Projects for the Birthright Israel Foundation. jpressberg@gmail.com

Hannah Sherman '14 will begin in September as Program Director at Hillel Santa Barbara. hsherman@brandeis.edu

Our deepest sympathies to:

Dara Friedman Weiss '13 on the passing of her father, Leonard Freedman.