Peter Van Zandt Lane awarded Barlow Endowment commission

Peter Van Zandt Lane, a fourth-year Ph.D. student in composition, was recently awarded a prestigious Barlow Endowment commission.

In considering 106 applications, the general, and Latter Day Saints commissioning programs, the endowment granted $63,000 to eleven composers including Lane.

Past winners include Eric Chasalow, Irving Fine Professor of Music who received one in 2010, Yu-Hui Chang, associate professor of compostion, who received one in 2009, Seung-Ah Oh, PhD '05 , who received one in 2008 and David Rakowski, Walter W. Naumburg professor of composition, who received one in 2006.

The Barlow Prize panel included representatives of three commissioning ensembles, including The Fifth House, who sent Adam Marks '00 as their representative.

Categories: Arts

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage