Michael Hagan chosen for Strage Award for Aspiring Young Science Faculty

Michael Hagan, assistant professor of physics, is the 13th recipient of the Alberta Gotthardt and Henry Strage Award for Aspiring Young Science Faculty.

Hagan’s work has focused largely on the factors that govern self-assembly: the ability of macromolecular systems to form organized structures spontaneously.

“This is at the heart of the development of complexity, not just in living organisms but also in nanotechnology,” says Gregory A. Petsko, the Gyula and Katica Tauber Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry and Stage Award chair. “Mike is one of Brandeis’ most accomplished young faculty members.”

The award ceremony and lecture, “Mechanisms of Virus Assembly,” will take place on Monday, April 16, in Abelson 131, at 12:30 p.m.

The Strage Award, now in its 13th year, is presented annually to someone who has distinguished himself in the junior faculty capacity. Brandeis Alum Alberta Gotthardt ‘56 and Henry Strage of London, England, created the award for researchers who haven’t yet gotten tenure and are working to get their programs going.

“They felt there were awards for people who were established, and for people starting out, but what was missing was something at that mid point,” says Petsko. “There was basically no one that said, ‘Hey you’re doing a great job; keep up the good work’ and the Strages wanted to do that. We have profound gratitude for this.”


Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage