Eight members of Mathematics department honored

Fellows of the American Mathematical Society announced, Simons Fellow in Mathematics recipient named for the spring of 2013.

Professors Ruth Charney, Ira M. Gessel, and Kiyoshi Igusa, along with emeritus professors Edgar Brown, David Buchsbaum, Harold Levine, Richard Palais, and Gerald Schwarz have been named to the inaugural group of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Fellows of the AMS program recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics.

In addition to being named to the inaugural group of AMS fellows, Ira M.Gessel, professor of mathematics and department chair, was also recently named a Simons Fellow in Mathematics for the spring of 2013. Gessel is part of the initial class of awardees for this fellowship, which will support research activities during his sabbatical leave.  

The program provides funds to faculty for a research leave of up to one semester from classroom teaching and administrative obligations. A Simons Fellowship provides salary replacement for up to 50 percent of the fellow’s current academic-year salary (up to a maximum of $100,000), as well as additional funds for leave-related expenses. In addition, the fellow’s home institution will receive 20 percent for indirect costs.

Categories: Research

Return to the BrandeisNOW homepage