Brandeis International Business School

PhD Candidates Available for Positions

George Hall
Placement Director
ghall@brandeis.edu
781-736-2242
Lauren Hasselriis-Ghom
Graduate Administrator
lhghom@brandeis.edu
781-736-4857
Mohammed AlMehdar
Mohammed AlMehdar

sites.google.com/view/mmehdar/home
mehdar@brandeis.edu | 857-400-4006
Biography & CV

Job Market Paper

  • “Imperfect OPEC: An Oil Market Model”

Other Research Papers

  • “Modeling Complexity in Energy Systems Using Fuzzy Logic Agents.”
  • “Evolutionary Methods for Generating Trading Strategies in The Crypto Market.”
  • “Systemic Racism or a Few Bad Apples: One and The Same?”

References: John Ballantine Jr. (johnbal@brandeis.edu), George Hall (ghall@brandeis.edu), Blake LeBaron (blebaron@brandeis.edu)


Anne Laski
Anne Laski

sites.google.com/view/annelaski/home
alaski@brandeis.edu | 857-210-8548
Biography & CV

Job Market Paper

  • “The Currency Hegemon's Optimal Inflation Rate”

Other Research Papers

  • “Stagnation and the Global Demand for Housing”
  • “How Sharpe is the Wisdom of the Crowd?”

Teaching: sites.google.com/view/annelaski/teaching

Fields: Macroeconomics, International Finance

References: George Hall (ghall@brandeis.edu), Maya Eden (meden@brandeis.edu), Blake LeBaron (blebaron@brandeis.edu)


Siqi Liu
Siqi Liu

sites.google.com/view/siqiliu/home
sliu2@brandeis.edu
Biography & CV

Job Market Paper

  • “Evaluating Market Failures in Automobiles: The Case of CAFE Standards”

Other Research Papers

  • “Are Coarse Ratings Fine? Application to Crashworthiness Ratings”

Teaching: sites.google.com/view/siqiliu/home

Fields: Empirical Industrial Organization, Econometrics

References: Xavi Vidal-Berastein (xvidalberastain@brandeis.edu), Bhoomija Ranjan (bhoomija.ranjan@monash.edu), Benjamin Shiller (shiller@brandeis.edu)


Mengnan Zhu
Mengnan Zhu

www.mengnanzhu.com
mengnanzhu@brandeis.edu | 732-331-2665
Biography & CV

Job Market Paper

  • “Does the Confidential IPO Registration Process Create Value?” 

Other Research Papers

  • “Financing Expectations and Firm Performance Using Econometric and Machine Learning Approaches” 
  • “Are IPOs Systemically Overvalued? Insights From Prospectus” 
  • “Is Going Public via SPAC Regulatory Arbitrage? A Textual Analysis Approach” 

Teaching: www.mengnanzhu.com/teaching

Fields: Empirical Corporate Finance, Entrepreneurship, Innovation, Machine Learning

References: Debarshi Nandy (dnandy@brandeis.edu), Stephen Cecchetti (cecchetti@brandeis.edu), Davide Pettenuzzo (dpettenu@brandeis.edu), Yang Sun (yangs@brandeis.edu)