William Anawalt, M.F.A. ’80, who serves as chair of the Boston Court Performing Arts Center in Pasadena, Calif., received the Gold Crown Award from the Pasadena Arts Council for his leadership.

Genevieve C. Fraser, M.F.A. ’81, is running as an independent for the 2nd Franklin District state representative seat in Massachusetts. Genevieve has held positions on the conservation commission, board of health, and solid waste study committee in Barre, and was a member of the Barre and Hubbardston Democratic Town Committees. She served as an aide to retired state senator Robert D. Wetmore from 1991 to 1995.

Jeane Anastas, Ph.D. ’82, a professor at NYU’s Silver School of Social Work, began a one-year term as president-elect of the National Association of Social Workers under current NASW president James Kelly on July 1. From 
July 1, 2011, through June 30, 2014, she will lead the Washington, D.C.-based association as president. NASW has 150,000 members and is the largest organization of professional social workers in the world.

Andrew Rice, Ph.D. ’82, of the Baylor College of Medicine and the Center for AIDS Research at the Texas Medical Center in Houston, was elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology. Fellows are elected annually through a highly selective peer-review process based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

Judith Eisen, Ph.D. ’82, a professor at the University of Oregon, was named a 2010 Guggenheim Fellow. She will spend a year designing a new technique using zebra fish to study the role of resident microbes in nervous-system development and function.

Jill Suttles, Ph.D. ’86, professor of microbiology and immunology at the University of Louisville School of Medicine, was one of 54 faculty members from across the country to participate in the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program for Women. It is the only national program dedicated to preparing senior women faculty for leadership at academic health centers.

Jane Karas, Ph.D. ’87, president of Flathead Valley Community College, was named one of Montana’s representatives to the Education Commission of the States.

Robert Lutz, Ph.D. ’88, was promoted from executive director to vice president of ImmunoGen, which develops targeted anticancer therapeutics. Robert has held positions of increasing responsibility since joining ImmunoGen as a scientist in 1992. He became senior director of preclinical development in 2004 and executive director of preclinical development in 2007. In early 2010, he was named executive director of drug development.

Submit a Class Note