Call for Nominations: 2020 Honorary Degree Recipients

Sept. 12, 2019

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

Every year at Commencement, we celebrate individuals whose lives have encapsulated and advanced the values of the Brandeis community. Through their contributions to the arts, business, politics, academia, and more, those who receive honorary degrees at Brandeis — our university’s highest honor — have used their talents to improve society and make an indelible mark on the world.

As we look forward to our 2020 Commencement, I encourage you to help us identify honorary degree candidates by submitting a nomination (please note, of course, that a nomination does not guarantee selection or approval). Nominations should be submitted by Friday, November 1.

Notable honorary degree recipients from the past include Madeleine Albright, David Ben-Gurion, Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Breyer, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, John F. Kennedy, Coretta Scott King, Thurgood Marshall, Golda Meir, Barbra Streisand, Desmond Tutu, and Elie Wiesel.

In recent years, recipients have also included David Brooks; Freeman Hrabowski III; Ellsworth Kelly; Jamaica Kincaid; Myra Hiatt Kraft ’64; Deborah Lipstadt, MA’72, PhD’76; Yo-Yo Ma; Deval Patrick; Thomas R. Pickering; Julieanna L. Richardson ’76; and Amartya Sen, among many others.

You can find the full list of past honorary degree recipients here.

We look forward to receiving your nominations.


Ron Liebowitz