Photo of Professor Ibrahim Sundiata teaching

you can help

Endowed chairs provide Brandeis' renowned faculty members with the support they need for their groundbreaking research and award-winning teaching. Donors to named professorships receive annual reports on their chair incumbent’s research and teaching, as well as copies of their publications.

 Learn more at the Development Website.

Endowed Faculty


Tzvi Abusch, Rose B. and Joseph Cohen Professor of Assyriology and Ancient Near Eastern Religion

Dolores Acevedo-Garcia, Samuel F. and Rose B. Gingold Professor of Human Development

Stuart Altman, Sol C. Chaikin Professor of National Health Policy

Joyce Antler, Samuel B. Lane Professor of American Jewish History and Culture

Robert Art, Christian A. Herter Professor of International Relations

back to top


Edward Bayone, Earle W. Kazis Professor of the Practice of Finance and International Real Estate

Eva Bellin, Myra and Robert Kraft Professor of Arab Politics

Christine Bishop, Atran Chair in Labor Economics 

Elizabeth Brainerd, Susan and Barton Winokur Professor in Economics and Women's and Gender Studies

Marc Brettler, Dora Golding Professor of Biblical Studies

Bernadette Brooten, Myra and Robert Kraft and Jacob Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies

Steven Burg, Adlai Stevenson Professor of International Politics

John Burt, Paul E. Prosswimmer Professor of American Literature

back to top


Eric Thomas Chafe, Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Music

Bulbul Chakraborty, Enid and Nate Ancell Professor of Physics

Ruth Charney, Theodore W. and Evelyn G. Berenson Professor of Mathematics

Eric Chasalow, Irving Fine Professor of Music

Peter Conrad, Harry Coplan Professor of Social Sciences

back to top


Jonathan Decter, Edmond J. Safra Professor of Sephardic Studies

Li Deng, Orrie Friedman Distinguished Chair in Chemistry

Susan Dibble, Louis, Frances and Jeffrey Sachar Professor of the Creative Arts

Tom Doherty, Professor of Film Studies (on the Sam Spiegel Fund)

Brian Donahue, Associate Professor of American Environmental Studies (on the Jack Meyerhoff Fund)

back to top


David Engerman, Ottilie Springer Professor of History

Irv Epstein, Henry F. Fischbach Professor of Chemistry

back to top


Sharon Feiman-Nemser, Mandel Professor of Jewish Education

Shai Feldman, Judy and Sidney Swartz Director's Chair of the Crown Center for Middle East Studies

David Hackett Fischer, Earl Warren Professor of History

Sylvia Fishman, Joseph and Esther Foster Professor in Judaic Studies

Gregory Freeze, Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of History 

back to top


Richard Gaskins, Joseph M. Proskauer Chair in Law and Social Welfare

Jeff Gelles, Aron and Imre Tauber Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Leslie Griffith, Nancy Lurie Marks Professor of Neuroscience

back to top


James Haber, Abraham and Etta Goodman Professor of Biology

Nader Habibi, Henry J. Leir Professor of the Economics of the Middle East

George Hall, Fred C. Hecht Professor of Economics

Eric Hill, Louis, Frances and Jeffrey Sachar Chair in Creative Arts

Eli Hirsch, Charles Goldman Professor of Philosophy

Arthur Holmberg, Blanche, Barbara and Irving Laurie Professor of Theater Arts

Mark L. Hulliung, Richard Koret Professor of the History of Ideas

back to top


Paul Jankowski, Raymond Ginger Professor of History

Gary H. Jefferson, Carl Marks Professor of International Trade and Finance

Laura Jockusch, Albert Abramson Assistant Professor of Holocaust Studies

back to top


Peter R. Kalb, Cynthia L. and Theodore S. Berenson Chair in the Department of Fine Arts

Ed Kaplan, Kevy and Hortense Kaiserman Professor in the Humanities

Jytte Klausen, Lawrence A. Wien Professor of International Cooperation

Raymond Knight, Mortimer Gryzmish Professor of Human Relations

Marty Wyngaarden Krauss, John Stein Professor of Disability Research

Adrianne Krstansky, Barbara Sherman '54 and Malcolm L. Sherman Director of Theater Arts

Daniel Kryder, Louis Stulberg Professor of Law and Politics

Yehuda Kurtzer, Charles R. Bronfman Visiting Professor in Jewish Communal Innovation

back to top


Margie Lachman, Minnie and Harold Fierman Professor of Psychology

Jim Lackner, Meshulam and Judith Riklis Professor of Physiology

Blake LeBaron, Abram L. and Thelma Sachar Professor of International Economics

Alain Lempereur, Alan B. Slifka Professor of Coexistance and Conflict

Marya Levenson, Harry S. Levitan Director of Teacher Education

John Lisman, Zalman Abraham Kekst Chair in Neuroscience

Susan Lovett, Abraham S. and Gertrude Burg Professor of Microbiology

Lisa Lynch, Maurice B. Hexter Professor of Social and Economic Policy

back to top


Bruce Magid, Martin and Ahuva Gross Chair in Financial Markets and Institutions

Kanan Mohomed Makiya, Sylvia K. Hassenfeld Professor of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies

Catherine Mann, Barbara and Richard M. Rosenberg Professor of Global Finance

Mingus Ulysses Mapps, Gregg Sneirson, Loretta Sneirson and Lester Sneirson Professor of African and Afro-American Studies and Politics

Eve Marder, Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Neuroscience

Charles McClendon, Sidney and Ellen Wien Chair in the History of Art

Robin Feuer Miller, Edytha Macy Gross Professor of Humanities

Robert Moody, Blanche, Barbara, and Irving Laurie Chair in Theater Arts

back to top


Sacha Nelson, Gyula and Katica Tauber Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Phamacodynamics

Daniel Oprian, Louis and Bessie Rosenfield Professor of Biochemistry

back to top


Susan Parish, Nancy Lurie Marks Professor of Disability Policy

Peter A. Petri, Carl Shapiro Professor of International Finance 

Antony Polonsky, Albert Abramson Professor of Holocaust Studies

back to top


David Rakowski, Walter W. Naumburg Professor of Composition

Jehuda Reinharz, Richard Koret Professor of Modern Jewish History

Shula Reinharz, Jacob S. Potofsky Professor of Sociology

Dagmar Ringe, Harold and Bernice Davis Professor of Aging and Neurodegenerative Disease

David H. Roberts, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Astrophysics

Michael Rosbash, Peter Gruber Professor of Neuroscience

back to top


Jonathan Sarna, Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Professor of American Jewish History

Leonard Saxe, Klutznick Professor of Contemporary Jewish Studies

Howard J. Schnitzer, Edward and Gertrude Swartz Professor of Theoretical Physics

Robert Sekuler, Louis and Frances Salvage Professor of Psychology

Tom Shapiro, Pokross Professor of Law and Social Policy

Harleen Singh, Helaine and Alvin Allen Chair in Literature

Carmen Sirianni, Morris Hillquit Professor of Labor and Social Thought

Marion Smiley, J.P. Morgan Chase Professor of Ethics

Barry B. Snider, Charles A. Breskin Professor of Organic Chemistry

Nagmeh Sohrabi, Charles (Corky) Goodman Professor of Middle East History

Ibrahim Sundiata (pictured above), Samuel and Augusta Spector Professor of History

Ilana Szobel, Assistant Professor on the Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Chair in Hebrew Literature

back to top


Ramie Targoff, Jehuda Reinharz Professor at the Mandel Center for Humanities

Ilan Troen, Karl, Harry and Helen Stoll Professor of Israel Studies

Gina Turrigiano, Joseph J. Levitan Chair in Visual Sciences

back to top


Javier Urcid, Jane's Chair Professor of Latin American Studies

Casey Wade, Landsman Career Development Professor of the Sciences

Pu Wang, Helaine and Alvin Allen Professor of Literature

Malcolm Watson, George and Frances Levin Professor of Psychology

Steve Whitfield, Max Richter Professor of American Civilization

Michael Willrich, Leff Families Professor of History

Bernard Yack, Lerman Neubauer Professor of Democracy and Public Policy

Palle Yourgrau, Harry A. Wolfson Chair in Philosophy

Leslie A. Zebrowitz, Manuel Yellen Professor of Social Relations 

back to top