Critical Acclaim

"The Lydians are fine players, full of dramatic charge and integrated to perfection."

— The Daily Telegraph (London, England)

"The Lydian Quartet seems to have arrived at its prime, finding a balance between instinct and intellect, exploration and experience, brains and heart."

— The Boston Globe

"The Lydians approached the works sensitively and with the full range of tone, from warmth to brashness, that the contemporary literature demands."

— The New York Times

Lydian String Quartet

Lydian String Quartet, 2014

From its beginning in 1980, the Lydian Quartet has embraced the full range of string quartet repertory with curiosity, virtuosity, and dedication to the highest artistic ideals of music making. Winners of the Naumburg Award for chamber music, the Lydian String Quartet has demonstrated "a precision and involvement marking them as among the world's best quartets" (Chicago Sun-Times).

Residing at Brandeis University, in Waltham, Massachusetts, the Lydians continue to offer compelling, superbly integrated, and thoughtful yet dramatic performances of the quartet literature, from the masterpieces of the classical, romantic, and modern eras to neglected works from the twentieth century to the remarkable work being done by today's most innovative composers.

In July 2014, the quartet welcomed its newest member, violist Mark Berger, who joins founding member and second violinist Judith Eissenberg, cellist Joshua Gordon, first violinist Daniel Stepner.

CLICK HERE to visit the Lydian String Quartet website and check out their new videos HERE!

Upcoming 2014-2015 Brandeis University season at Slosberg Music Center:

It's About Time!

Concert 1 – November 8, 2014, 8 p.m. (7 p.m. preconcert talk)

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN String Quartet in F major, Op. 50 no. 5, “The Dream”
PHILLIP GLASS String Quartet no. 5
ELLIOTT CARTER String Quartet No. 1

Concert 2
– April 18, 2015, 8 p.m. (7 p.m. preconcert talk)

BEN JOHNSTON String Quartet No. 4, "Amazing Grace"
CHARLES IVES String Quartet no. 2
EVAN ZIPORYN "Sulvasutra" for tabla, pipa, and string quartet

with guest artists Sandeep Das, tabla; and Yihan Chen, pipa

Ticket Information:

$20; $15 for Brandeis community and seniors (55+); $5 for students.

Purchase tickets online, by phone at (781) 736-3400, and in person at Brandeis Tickets, located in the Shapiro Campus Center atrium.