Books by South Asian Studies Faculty

The Slow Boil

A History of the Indian Novel in English

The Rani of Jhansi

Realism in the Twentieth-Century Indian Novel

Urban Navigations

Everyday Life in South Asia

Aging and the Indian Diaspora

Know Your Enemy: The Rise and Fall of America's Soviet Experts

The Peasants of Ottobeuren, 1487-1726: A Rural Society in Early Modern Europe

Staging Growth: Modernization, Development, and the Global Cold War

Modernization from the Other Shore: American Intellectuals and the Romance of Russian Development

White Saris and Sweet Mangoes

Four-Dimensional Time: Twentieth Century Philosophies of History in Europe

Faculty

Jonathan Shapiro Anjaria

Jonathan Shapiro Anjaria, Chair & Undergraduate Advising Head
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
janjaria@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2221
Office: Brown 209
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Ulka Anjaria

Ulka Anjaria
Associate Professor of English
uanjaria@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2162
Office: Rabb 239
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

David Engerman

David Engerman
Professor of History
engerman@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2281
Office: Olin-Sang 119
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Sarah Lamb

Sarah Lamb
Professor of Anthropology
lamb@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2211
Office: Brown 208
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Brandeis Shield

Nidhiya Menon
Associate Professor of Economics
nmenon@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2230
Office: Sachar 202
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Hannah Weiss Muller

Hannah Weiss Muller
Assistant Professor of History
mullerh@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2278
Office: Olin-Sang 119
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Rajesh Sampath

Rajesh Sampath
Associate Professor of the Philosophy of Justice, Rights, and Social Change
Associate Director of the Master's Program in Sustainable International Development
rsampath@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-5338
Office: Heller-Brown 157
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Laurence Simon

Laurence Simon
Professor of International Development
Director of the Center for Global Development and Sustainability
simon@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-4148
Office: Heller-Brown 160
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD

Harleen Singh

Harleen Singh
Associate Professor of Literature and Women's and Gender Studies
harleen@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-8485
Office: Mandel 114
On leave AY 2016-17.

Govind Sreenivasan

Govind Sreenivasan
Associate Professor of History
sreenivasan@brandeis.edu
(781) 736-2277
Office: Olin-Sang 117
Fall 2016 office hours: TBD