Giumette Academic Achievement Award

The Giumette Academic Achievement Award was developed by the Office of Students and Enrollment, in conjunction with the Student Union and the Office of the Dean of Arts and Sciences, as a way to recognize currently enrolled sophomores who have distinguished themselves in their course of study at Brandeis.

Formerly known as the Brandeis Academic Achievement Award, the award was renamed in 2015 in honor of Peter Giumette, who served as the dean of student financial services for more than 20 years and who had a deep commitment to increasing access to educational opportunities for first-generation and low-income students. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding scholarship and academic achievement as evidenced by grades, faculty recommendations and personal accomplishment.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility Limitations

Students currently receiving either Malkin or Slifka Scholarships are not eligible to apply for this award, nor are students currently on academic or behavioral probation.

Amount, Duration of Award

Up to 10 awards in the amount of $5,000 per semester will be conferred for the junior and senior years. Recipients will be chosen by a selection committee composed of students, faculty and staff. 

Application Requirements

Dates, Deadlines and Notification

Financial Aid

If a Giumette Award recipient also has need-based financial aid, the award will be included in the financial aid package in accordance with federal, state, and institutional policies, as well as the outside scholarship policy defined by the Office of Student Financial Services. Thus, the award will first be used to fulfill any unmet federal financial need. Any award amount in excess of unmet federal financial need will then be used to reduce the self-help (loan and work) components of the financial aid package. In some rare cases, need-based institutional scholarship funds may be adjusted to keep total aid within the cost of attendance.

Renewal Criteria

Recipients of the Giumette Award must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 in order to be eligible for scholarship renewal. Students on academic or behavioral probation will not be eligible for renewal.

Past Winners