Brandeis International Business School


2023 Asper Award for Global Entrepreneurship

The Asper Award for Global Entrepreneurship is given annually to a person who best exemplifies Brandeis International Business School's values of entrepreneurial spirit and independent thinking.

This year's award recipient is Robert Herjavec, entrepreneur, CEO, best-selling author and star of ABC’s Emmy Award-winning show, Shark Tank.

Brandeis student and alumni entrepreneurs will also be honored during this special event.


*Overflow seating will be available in World Court.

Award Recipient

Robert Herjavec

Robert Herjavec

Robert Herjavec is a globally recognized business leader and trusted cybersecurity expert. For the last 14 years, Herjavec has been well known as one of the founding Sharks and executive producer of ABC’s Emmy Award-winning hit show, Shark Tank. 

Read Full Biography

Event Program

Thursday, April 27, 2023

5:00-7:30 P.M. EST
Brandeis International Business School

Asper Student Startup Prizes — Lee Hall

Food will be served

Brandeis Alumni Entrepreneurship Award with honoree Bozhanka Vitanova, MA‘16 — Lee Hall
Virtual Presentation of Asper Award — Lee Hall
Virtual Q&A with honoree Robert Herjavec — Lee Hall
Reception — World Court

Dessert will be served

Asper Student Startup Prizes

Submit your idea and win $1,000!

The Asper Student Startup Prizes award creative and innovative ideas developed by Brandeis students. These ideas are innovations in their early stages that have been inspired by research and coursework across all disciplines and departments at Brandeis.

Learn More

View Video Transcript


Len Asper

Leonard Asper ’86

President and CEO, Anthem Sports & Entertainment Corp.

Leonard Asper is the president, CEO and majority shareholder of Anthem Sports & Entertainment Corp. Asper serves on Brandeis International Business School’s Board of Advisors and previously served several terms on Brandeis University’s Board of Trustees.

Kathryn Graddy

Kathryn Graddy

Dean, Brandeis International Business School

Kathryn Graddy is the dean of Brandeis International Business School and the Fred and Rita Richman Distinguished Professor in Economics. Graddy has held numerous leadership positions at Brandeis University. Graddy’s research focuses on the economics of art, culture and, more generally, industrial organization.

Philippe Wells

Philippe Wells

Professor of the Practice of Entrepreneurial Finance
Director, Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship

Philippe Wells is a professor of the practice of entrepreneurial finance at Brandeis International Business School. A seasoned entrepreneur in the health and wellness industry, Wells also previously worked in structured finance at Bain Capital and in strategy consulting at the Boston Consulting Group.

About the Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship

The Asper Center for Global Entrepreneurship serves as Brandeis International Business School's platform to examine and understand the key trends affecting entrepreneurship across cultures and borders. It provides a diverse range of learning experiences through courses, seminars, conferences, internships, business plan competitions, field visits and meetings with global entrepreneurs.

Previous Winners

Stephanie Tilenius

Stephanie Tilenius
Founder and CEO, Vida Health

Governor Deval L. Patrick

Deval L. Patrick
Governor of Massachusetts, 2007-2015

Roberta Lipson '76

Roberta Lipson '76
CEO of United Family Healthcare

Lior Div of Cybereason, Brandeis President Ronald Liebowitz, Udi Mokady of CyberArk

Udi Mokady, CEO of CyberArk
Lior Div, CEO of Cybereason

John Harthorne and Akhil Nigam
Co-founders, MassChallenge

Diane Hessan
Chairman, Communispace

Brian Lash '78
Founder, Target Companies

Helen Greiner
Co-Founder of iRobot, Founder/CEO of CyPhyWorks

Linda Rottenberg
CEO and Co-Founder, Endeavor Global

Jon L. Luther
Chairman and CEO, Dunkin' Brands



For more information, please contact Kim Airasian, Associate Director, Event Strategy and External Relations.