Student Committees and Boards

Alumni Board
  • Hannah Brown, Senior Representative to the Alumni Board

  • Samantha Barrett, Junior Representative to the Alumni Board

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
  • Brandon Stanaway, Senior Representative

  • Carrie Sheng, Junior Representative

The Office of Student Rights and Advocacy (OSRA)
  • Alanna Levy ’19, Director

  • Evelyn Veil ’20, Assistant Director

  • Elaina Pevida ’20, Advocate

  • Jiaao Gong ’21, Advocate

  • Hannah Davies ’22, Advocate

  • Sonali Anderson ’22, Advocate

Community Emergency and Enhancement Fund (CEEF) Board

Elections for the CEEF board representatives for 2019-2020 will take place during Spring 2019. Learn more about the FundEmail CEEF with questions.

  • Michael Scott Bender, Brandeis Representative to CEEF

  • Adrian Ashley, Student Union Treasurer

  • Tal Richtman, Brandeis Representative to CEEF

  • David Hui, Class of 2022 Senator

  • Emma Russell, Student Union Cheif of Staff

Social Justice and Diversity Committee

Meetings: Thursdays, 7-8 p.m., Student Union Office (Shapiro Campus Center, 301)

The Brandeis Student Union Social Justice and Diversity Committee is here to serve you! We are a committee consisting of Brandeis senators as well as two non-senate chairs. As advocates for social justice and diversity, we aim to better the Brandeis community by educating and fighting for social justice. We also believe that diversity is very important to have on campus, therefore, we seek to embrace and urge administrators to build upon the existing diversity.

Chair: Sen. Geraldine Bogard

Campus Operations Working Group Committee (COWG)

Meetings: Mondays, 5-6 p.m., Student Union Office (Shapiro Campus Center, 301)

The Campus Operations Working Group is the Senate's committee that focuses on facilities upkeep and other operations. Areas of interest for COWG include residence halls, transportation, and infrastructure. All Senators elected to represent residence halls are compelled to serve on the COWG Committee, and other Senators will occasionally serve as well.

Chair: Sen. Taylor Fu

Suggest a Project

Sustainability Committee

Meetings: Mondays, 1-2 p.m., Student Union Office (Shapiro Campus Center, 301)

We're a Student Union community fighting for our planet's health. We work with administration, faculty, staff, and student groups on sustainable initiatives, making a dent in our campus' carbon footprint.

Committee chair: Kent Dinlenc

Rules Committee

Meetings: Wednesdays, 7-8 p.m., Shapiro Campus Center Floor 3 Conference Room

The Rules committee is working to clarify and streamline the operations of the Student Union.

Direct questions regarding Bylaws Committee to Jake Rong.

View the Bylaws

Club Support Committee

Meetings: Saturdays, 3-5 p.m., Student Union Office (Shapiro Campus Center, 301)

The Club Support Committee is the Senate's committee that focuses on facilitating both the club recognition and chartering accreditation process as well as providing support to existing clubs. This year the committee is working to improve club organization around campus and to help connect clubs to the many resources in the Brandeis community.

Chair: Sen. Noah Nguyen

Email the Committee

Dining Committee

Meetings (Committee and Brandeis Dining): Wednesdays, 3:30-4:30 p.m., Sherman Dining Hall

The Senate Dining Committee represents the interests of the Brandeis student body in all dining-related affairs. This includes but is not limited to food and service quality, dining location hours, food offerings, meal plans, and dietary needs. The group is also an important forum for exchanging ideas, experience, and knowledge about dining-related needs between students, faculty, and staff.

For more information, please contact the current committee chair, Leigh Salomon.

Services and Outreach

Meetings: Fridays, 6:45–7:45 p.m., Student Union Office Conference Room (Shapiro Campus Center, Floor 3)

Services and Outreach works hard to ensure the extracurricular experience at Brandeis is both vibrant and inclusive. The committee is in charge of planning and promoting convenient services and events (e.g. transportation during school holidays, faculty-student engagement programs, the bi-annual Midnight Buffet, new student orientation guides, Meet-the-Union events, spirit events, etc.) with the goal of making every student's quality of life better on this campus.

We work directly with leaders from the Department of Student Activities, the Dean of Students' office, the Student Union Executive Board, and the senior University Administration to carry out a variety of innovative proposals meant to boost student engagement and promote a healthy, spirited, and welcoming atmosphere here at Brandeis.

Chair: Sen. Kendal Chapman

Health and Safety Committee

Meetings: Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m., Student Union Office (Shapiro Campus Center, 301)

The Health and Safety Committee is the branch of both the Senate and the Student Union that is dedicated to maintaining and improving Brandeis students' mental and physical health, along with ensuring their safety on campus.

Senate Chair: Joshua Hoffman