Faculty and Staff

Faculty / Contact

 Areas of Expertise

Betsy Brainerd Elizabeth Brainerd
Susan and Barton Winokur Professor in Economics and Women's and Gender Studies

Sachar Building, Room 126
781-736-4816
ebrainer@brandeis.edu

Labor Economics, Economic Demography, Health Economics, Health and Fertility in Post-Socialist Countries
browne Lynn Browne
Lecturer in Economics

Central Banking: Theory and Policy

Sachar Building, Room 001B
lebrowne@brandeis.edu 

Monetary Policy
bui Linda Bui
Associate Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 125
781-736-4848
ltbui@brandeis.edu

Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization, Public Economics
coiner Michael Coiner
Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 004
781-736-2239
coiner@brandeis.edu

Economics of Higher Education; International Economics
frank Frank Georges
Lecturer in Economics

Sachar Building, Room 124B
fgeorges@brandeis.edu

Applied Microeconomics and Industrial Organization
graddy Kathryn Graddy
Fred and Rita Richman Distinguished Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 122
781-736-8616
kgraddy@brandeis.edu  

Art Auctions, Investment Returns to Violins, Price Discrimination and Anti-Competitive Behavior
nader Nader Habibi (on leave spring 2016)
Henry J. Leir Professor of  Economics of the Middle East, Crown Center, and Senior Lecturer, Economics Department

Sachar Building, Room 011A
781-736-5325
nhabibi@brandeis.edu 

Economics of the Middle East
hall George Hall
Fred C. Hecht Professor of Economics, Department Chair

Lemberg Building, Room 164
781-736-2242
ghall@brandeis.edu 

Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Industrial Organization
gary Gary H. Jefferson
Carl Marks Professor of International Trade and Finance

Sachar Building, Room 128B
781-736-2253
jefferso@brandeis.edu 

Chinese Economy, Economic Development, Industrial Organization, Technical Change, Transition Economics
menon Nidhya Menon
Associate Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 202
781-736-2230
nmenon@brandeis.edu 

Development Economics, Labor, Demography
davide Davide Pettenuzzo (on leave fall 2015)
Assistant Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 216
781-736-2834
dpettenu@brandeis.edu

Time-Series Econometrics, Bayesian Econometrics, Forecasting, Financial Markets
scott Scott A, Redenius (on leave fall 2015)
Senior Lecturer in Economics

Lemberg Building, Room 160
781-736-2237
redenius@brandeis.edu 

Economic History, The Economics of Financial Institutions
schoenle Raphael Schoenle
Assistant Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 015
781-736-2268
schoenle@brandeis.edu 

International Macroeconomics, Macro- and Monetary Economics, International Trade
ben Benjamin Shiller
Assistant Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 209B
781-736-5205
shiller@brandeis.edu 

Applied Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Information Economics
dan Daniel L. Tortorice
Assistant Professor of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 214B
781-736-5208
tortoric@brandeis.edu 

Macroeconomics: Business Cycles, Unemployment, Aggregate Consumption, Expectations

Affliated Faculty

 
dberg Daniel Bergstresser
Associate Professor of Finance, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 128C
781-736-5007
dberg@brandeis.edu 

Municipal Finance, Corporate Governance, Household Financial Behavior
Cecchetti

Stephen G. Cecchetti
Professor, International Business School

Lemberg Building, Room 255
781-736-4856
cecchett@brandeis.edu

macroeconomics, monetary policy, banking, central banking and financial regulation
judy Judy Dean
Professor of International Economics, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 130E
781-736-8547
judydean@brandeis.edu

International Economics, Economic Development, Econometrics
Hsiaw

Alice Hsiaw
Assistant Professor of Economics, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 214A
781-736-2251
ahsiaw@brandeis.edu

Behavioral Economics, Applied Microeconomic Theory
blake Blake LeBaron
Abram L. and Thelma Sachar Professor of International Economics, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 204
781-736-2258
blebaron@brandeis.edu 

Macroeconomics, International Finance, Microeconomics
lopez Ricardo Lopez
Assistant Professor in Economics, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 123
781-736-4823
rlopez@brandeis.edu 
International Trade,Economic Development, Productivity Analysis, Latin America
lynch Lisa Lynch
Interim President and the Maurice B. Hexter Professor of Social and Economic Policy

781-736-3001
deanlisalynch@brandeis.edu 

Labor Economics, Organizational Innovation, Applied Microeconometrics
mann Catherine L. Mann (on leave 2015-2016)
Barbara and Richard M. Rosenberg Professor of Global Finance, International Business School

clmann@brandeis.edu 

U.S. in the Global Economy, Technology and Outsourcing, Politics of U.S. Economic Policy
Aldo

Aldo Musacchio
Associate Professor of Business, International Business School

Lemberg Building, Room 252
781-736-2249
aldom@brandeis.edu

Institutions and Economic Development, Industrial Innovation Policy, Corporate Governance
Nandy

Debarshi K. Nandy
Associate Professor of Finance, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 209A
781-736-8364
dnandy@brandeis.edu

Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Financial Economics; Corporate Finance, Banking and Financial Intermediation
carol Carol Osler
Professor of Finance, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 205
781-736-4826
cosler@brandeis.edu 

International Finance, Financial Markets, Open Economy, Macroeconomics
petri Peter Petri
Carl Shapiro Professor of International Finance, International Business School

Sachar Building, Room 203
781-736-2256
ppetri@brandeis.edu 

International Trade,Development, Japan, Korea, China

Emeritus Faculty

carter Anne P. Carter
Professor Emerita of Economics
Changing Specialization Of Businesses And Of Workers, Economics Of Information, Technical Change, Technology Transfer

tren

F. Trenery Dolbear
Associate Dean and Professor Emeritus of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 201
781-736-2244
dolbear@brandeis.edu

Macroeconomics, Public Sector, Budget Issues, Tax Issues
rachel

Rachel McCulloch
Professor Emerita of Economics

Sachar Building, Room 124 A
781-736-2245
mcculloch@brandeis.edu

International Economic Policy

Administration

leslie Leslie Yancich
Department Administrator

Lemberg Building, Economics Office
781-736-4875
lesliey@brandeis.edu