2016-17 Near Eastern and Judaic Studies Faculty

View a list of faculty office hours for fall 2016.

Faculty

Faculty / Contact

Areas of Expertise

Tzvi Abusch photo Abusch, Tzvi
Rose B. and Joseph Cohen Professor of Assyriology and Ancient Near Eastern Religion
Lown 313
781-736-2969
abusch@brandeis.edu  
Languages and cultures of ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Near Eastern religions, magic, literature and thought, Hebrew Bible.
Guy Antebi Antebi, Guy
Senior Lecturer in Hebrew
A. Shapiro Academic Center 312
781-736-2952
antebi@brandeis.edu   
Hebrew language, educational technology
Rasha Azoni Azoni-Hannigan, Rasha
Lecturer in Arabic
Lown 207
781-736-2937
rashazoni@brandeis.edu 
Arabic language
Bernadette Brooten Brooten, Bernadette
Myra and Robert Kraft and Jacob Hiatt Professor of Christian Studies
Mandel Center for the Humanities 113
781-736-2978
brooten@brandeis.edu  
Early Christian literature and history, women and religion, history of sexuality and history of slavery, Christian studies, New Testament, Post-Biblical Judaism, Feminist Sexual Ethics
Aliza Brosh Brosh, Aliza
Lecturer in Hebrew
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 316
781-736-2956
aliza@brandeis.edu 
Hebrew language
Jonathan Decter Decter, Jonathan
Department Chair
Edmond J. Safra Professor of Sephardic Studies
Lown 210
781-736-2960
decter@brandeis.edu  
Jews of the Islamic world, medieval Hebrew literature, medieval Jewish studies, Separdic studies, medieval Jewish thought
David Ellenson Ellenson, David
Director of the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies
Mandel Center for the Humanities 307
781-736-2764
dellenson@brandeis.edu 
Development of Orthodox Judaism in Germany during the 19th century; Orthodox legal writings on conversion in Israel, North America, and Europe; history of modern Jewish religious movements; relationship between religion and state in Israel; American Jewish life.
Carl Sharif El-Tobgui El-Tobgui, Carl Sharif
Assistant Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies and Director, Arabic Language Program
Islamic Studies
Lown 206
781-736-2071
eltobgui@brandeis.edu 
Islamic thought, theology, law and jurisprudence; Arabic language (Qur'anic, classical & modern); and Classical Arabic literature & poetry.
Sharon Feiman Nemser Feiman-Nemser, Sharon
Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Professor of Jewish Education
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 111
781-736-2946
snemser@brandeis.edu
Jewish education; curriculum and pedagogy in teacher education; learning to teach; mentoring and new teacher induction; professional development of teachers.
Sylvia Barack Fishman Fishman, Sylvia
Joseph and Esther Foster Professor in Judaic Studies
Lown 308
781-736-2065
fishman@brandeis.edu 
Contemporary Jewry; American Jewish sociology; Jewish literature, film and popular culture; changing construction of Jews gender roles and Jewish families. 
ChaeRan Freeze Freeze, ChaeRan
Director of Graduate Studies
Professor of Near Eastern and Judaic Studies, and Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Lown 312
781-736-2987
cfreeze@brandeis.edu 
Russian-Jewish historian with research interests in gender, family, sexuality, radical movements, and everyday life. 
Sara Hascal Hascal, Sara
Senior Lecturer in Hebrew
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 320
781-736-2955
hascal@brandeis.edu 
Hebrew language
Laura Jockusch

Jockusch, Laura 
Albert Abramson Assistant Professor of Holocaust Studies
Lown 310


Modern Jewish history/ Holocaust studies
Ellen Kellman Kellman, Ellie
Study Abroad Advisor
Assistant Professor of Yiddish
Lown 300b
781-736-2129
kellman@brandeis.edu 
Yiddish language and literature;  East European Jewish cultural history
Reuven Kimelman Kimelman, Reuven
Professor of Near Eastern and Judaic Studies
Lown 208
781-736-2963
kimelman@brandeis.edu  
Classic Rabbinic literature, Talmud, Midrash, liturgy, ethics and Jewish political tradition
Jonathan Krasner

Krasner, Jonathan
Undergraduate Advising Head

Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Associate Professor of Jewish Education Research
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 123
781-736-2372
jkrasner@brandeis.edu 

History of American Jewish education, teaching and learning of Jewish history and social studies, Jewish youth, and LGBT Jews
Suheil Laher Laher, Suheil
Lecturer in Arabic
Lown 209
slaher@brandeis.edu 
Arabic language and Islamic studies
Jon Levisohn Levisohn, Jon
Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Professor of Jewish Educational Thought
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 125
781-736-2941
levisohn@brandeis.edu 
Philosophy of education, with particular interest in purposes, processes, and outcomes of Jewish education in all of its various settings. Scholarship of teaching classical Jewish texts.
Yehudah Mirsky Mirsky, Yehudah
Associate Professor of Near Eastern and Judaic Studies and the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies
Mandel Center for the Humanities 318
781-736-3977
mirsky@brandeis.edu
Israeli politics, theology and culture; Jewish and political thought.
Ari Ofengenden Ofengenden, Ari
Assistant Professor of Hebrew, and Director of the Hebrew Language and Literature Program
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 326
781-736-2979
ario@brandeis.edu
Hebrew language and literature, poetry, literary theory; contemporary Israeli culture; Jewish literature; comparative literature.
Lenin Prado Prado, Lenin
Lecturer
Lown 110
lprado@brandeis.edu
Bible and Ancient Near East, Akkadian
Jehuda Reinharz Reinharz, Jehuda
President Emeritus and Richard Koret Professor of Modern Jewish History; Director, Tauber Institute
Lown 304
781-736-8581
jreinhar@brandeis.edu 
Modern Jewish history
Sharon Rivo Rivo, Sharon
Adjunct Associate Professor of Jewish Film
Lown 102
781-736-8658
rivo@brandeis.edu 
Jewish and Holocaust film, archivist and producer
Jonathan Sarna Sarna, Jonathan
Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Professor of American Jewish History
Lown 213b
781-736-2977
sarna@brandeis.edu 
American Jewish history, religion and life
Safaa Shaheen Shaheen, Safaa
Lecturer in Arabic
Lown 207
781-736-2973
sshaheen@brandeis.edu
Arabic language
Aaron Shakow Shakow, Aaron
Lecturer
Lemberg 108
781-736-5331
ashakow@brandeis.edu
Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies
Eugene Sheppard Sheppard, Eugene
Associate Professor of Modern Jewish History and Thought
Lown 307
781-736-2965
sheppard@brandeis.edu 
Modern Jewish history and thought
Esther Shorr Shorr, Esther
Senior Lecturer in Hebrew
A. Shapiro Academic Complex 314
781-736-2975
shorr@brandeis.edu 
Hebrew language
Ellen Smith Smith, Ellen
Associate Professor of the Practice in the Hornstein Program in Jewish Professional Leadership
Lown 204
781-736-2998
esmith2@brandeis.edu
Jewish leadership, Jewish visual and material culture, museum studies
Ilana Szobel Szobel, Ilana
Associate Professor on the Joseph H. and Belle R. Braun Chair in Hebrew Literature
Mandel Center for the Humanities 313
781-736-5230
szobel@brandeis.edu 
Israeli society and culture in modern Hebrew literature as it relates to feminism, war and peace, the Holocaust, family structure, economic and cultural dislocation
Ilan Troen Troen, Ilan
Karl, Harry and Helen Stoll Professor of Israel Studies
Mandel Center for the Humanities 317
781-736-6220
troen@brandeis.edu 
American, Jewish, and Israeli history
Jacqueline Vayntrub Vayntrub, Jacqueline 
Professor of Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East
Lown 311
781-736-2968
Hebrew Bible, wisdom literature, biblical poetry and poetics, philology, and the history of biblical scholarship
David Wright Wright, David
Professor of Bible and the Ancient Near East
Lown 309
781-736-2957
wright@brandeis.edu 
Hebrew Bible, biblical and Near Eastern ritual, law and history, Northwest Semitic languages and linguistics

Emeritus
Faculty

Avigdor Levy Levy, Avigdor
Professor  Emeritus
Ottoman and modern Middle Eastern history.  History of Jewish people in Muslim countries.
Antony Polonsky Polonsky, Antony
Professor Emeritus of Holocaust Studies
polonsky@brandeis.edu 
Polish-Jewish history, Holocaust studies. East European Jewish history.
Benjamin Ravid Ravid, Ben
Professor Emeritus
Medieval and early modern Jewish history.  Jews of Venice; institution of the ghetto.