Beinecke Scholarship Program

In 1971, the board of directors of The Sperry and Hutchinson Co. created an endowment to provide substantial scholarships for the graduate education of young men and women of exceptional promise. The program seeks to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them and to be courageous in the selection of a graduate course of study in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Each year, 18 to 22 scholars are chosen nationwide from an applicant pool restricted to 106 nominating schools. Most winners are near the top of their class academically and often plan to pursue careers in college teaching and/or research.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility Limitations

A scholar is permitted to take a one-year leave of absence immediately following graduation, but is normally expected to enter graduate school and begin receipt of the Beinecke funding the following year.


Funds may be used for graduate study in the U.S. or abroad.

Amount, Duration of Award

Scholars receive a total award of $34,000 toward graduate school studies. An initial payment of $4,000 is made directly to the student prior to entering graduate school. Funds must be used within five years of graduation.

Application Requirements

A preapplication competition is held in January to determine the Brandeis nominee. The application includes a personal statement of 1,000 words or less from the nominee describing his or her background, interests, plans for graduate study and career aspirations. The statement should include a discussion of some experiences and ideas that have shaped those interests, plans and aspirations.

Dates, Deadlines and Notification

Past Brandeis Winners