Holiday Schedule

For the holidays noted below, academic and administrative offices are closed and classes are not in session unless otherwise indicated. Staff members who are required to work these holidays are entitled to take other days off and should check with their supervisors regarding scheduling.

2021 Calendar Year

Holiday Date Celebrated
New Year's Day Friday, Jan. 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, Jan. 18
Presidents Day Monday, Feb. 15
Good Friday* (begins at noon) Friday, April 2
Patriots Day** (classes in session) Monday, April 19
Memorial Day Monday, May 31
Juneteenth Friday, June 18
Independence Day Monday, July 5
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 6
Rosh Hashanah Tuesday, Sept. 7
Yom Kippur Thursday, Sept. 16
Indigenous Peoples Day** Monday, Oct. 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, Nov. 25
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, Nov. 26
Christmas Day Friday, Dec. 24

* Half-day holiday.

** Floating holidays (academic and administrative offices open). To be used within three months from the date of the holiday. If not used within three months, this time off will not be available.

President's Discretionary Days

Holiday Date Celebrated
Memorial Day Friday, May 28, beginning at 2 p.m.
July 4 Holiday Friday, July 2, beginning at 2 p.m.
Holiday Break* Monday, Dec. 27, through Thursday, Dec. 30**

* Staff members who are required to work these holidays are entitled to take other days off and should check with their supervisors regarding scheduling.

** This is in addition to the existing observed holidays of Christmas and New Year's Day on Friday, Dec. 24, and Friday, Dec. 31.

Special Time Off Date to Be Used By
5 Discretionary Days* Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2021

* These discretionary days will allow the addition of five days of time off to eligible staff beginning Sept. 1, 2020. These extra days off must be used by Aug. 31, 2021. These days are being granted in recognition of the extra effort put forth by Brandeis staff during COVID-19 crisis. Unlike vacation days, these days will not have any cash value at termination of employment and will expire on Aug. 31, 2021, with no carryover provision. Benefits-eligible staff who are employed on or before Sept. 1, 2020, and work at least 17.5 hours per week are currently eligible for vacation accruals (excludes athletic coaches, faculty and non-benefits-eligible temporary employees).