Divisions of the School of Arts and Sciences

Last updated: October 4, 2021 at 1:42 PM

Majors in the School of Arts and Sciences

Within the School of Arts and Sciences, courses are offered by academic departments and programs to support educational programs and objectives that are departmental, interdisciplinary and university-wide in scope. Academic departments and programs reside in schools of thought: Creative Arts, Humanities, Science and Social Science. Because the organization of undergraduate degree requirements makes reference to this school structure, it is important that students familiarize themselves with it.

Most typically, the courses offered by a department or program will have membership in one school, that in which the department resides. Some courses, however, may have membership in more than one school. Also, some interdisciplinary areas do not fit neatly into a single school; individual courses within such areas may reside in different schools.

The school membership of courses has been incorporated into the "requirement codes" appearing in the course listings. A legend for the codes may be found in the "Requirement Codes" section of this Bulletin. The course offering information published each fall and spring also indicates to which schools particular courses belong. If in doubt about the school membership of a particular course, consult the Office of the University Registrar.

Creative Arts

Courses in the division of creative arts teach the history of the visual and performing arts, engage students in the creative process itself, and develop artistic skills and aesthetic sensibilities.

Art History
Film, Television and Interactive Media
Studio Art
Theater Arts


The division of humanities offers undergraduates a systematic introduction to our literary and philosophical heritage.

Classical Studies
Comparative Literature and Culture
Creative Writing
East Asian Studies
European Cultural Studies
French and Francophone Studies
German Studies
Hispanic Studies
Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies
Russian Studies

The following languages are also offered: Akkadian (the Semitic language and literature of Assyria and Babylonia preserved in cuneiform), Arabic, Chinese, Greek, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Portuguese, and Yiddish.


The division of science provides the basic scientific training preparing students for entry into graduate school or for work at the intermediate level in their scientific fields. Students are encouraged to take such courses outside the School of Science as will best broaden and further their intellectual growth.

Applied Mathematics
Biological Physics
Computer Science


Social Science

In addition to the basic coverage of the social sciences provided by the departmental disciplines noted below, the division of social science also supports a number of cross-disciplinary programs which offer an opportunity to minor and, in some cases, major in their programs.

African and Afro-American Studies
American Studies
Education Studies
Environmental Studies
Health: Science, Society, and Policy
International and Global Studies
Latin American and Latino Studies
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies