Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center

Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine

Gabbay Award MedalEarly in 1998, the trustees of the Jacob and Louise Gabbay Foundation decided to establish a major new award in basic and applied biomedical sciences.

The Foundation felt that existing scientific awards tended either to honor people who were already well-recognized, or to focus on work that had its primary impact in traditional basic research fields. Yet the history of science suggests that most scientific revolutions are sparked by advances in practical areas such as instrumentation and techniques.

The Foundation therefore created the Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine to recognize, as early as possible in their careers, scientists in academia, medicine or industry whose work had outstanding scientific content and significant practical consequences in the biomedical sciences. The award was renamed the Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine in 2016 to honor Jacob’s wife, Louise Gabbay, who was instrumental in founding the award.

The award, given annually, consists of a medallion and a cash prize. Recipients travel to Brandeis University in the fall of each year and present a lecture on their work, followed by a dinner at which the formal presentation takes place. Nominations are solicited from selected scientists in industry and academia. A panel of distinguished researchers representing the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries, as well as universities and schools of medicine, is assembled to consider nominations.

25th (2023) Winners

25th Annual Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine Lecture Engineered Nanobodies for Structural Biology and Drug Discovery Award Recipient Jan Steyaert Thursday, October 27, 2022, 4:00 p.m. Gerstenzang 123

in recognition of their contributions in the field of targeted protein degradation, spearheading the development of PROTACs


Craig Crews

John C. Malone Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Department of Chemistry
Department of Pharmacology
Executive Director, Yale Center for Molecular Discovery
Yale University
New Haven, CT USA

Raymond Deshaies

Senior Vice President, Global Research
Amgen, Inc.
Visiting Associate, Division of Biology & Biological Engineering
California Institute of Technology
Thousand Oaks, CA USA