Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research

Rosenstiel MedalIn 1971, the Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Research was established as an expression of the conviction that educational institutions have an important role to play in the encouragement and development of basic science as it applies to medicine.

Medals are presented annually at Brandeis University on the basis of recommendations of a panel of outstanding, Boston-area scientists appointed by the Director of the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center. Awards are given to scientists for recent discoveries of particular originality and importance to basic medical research. A cash prize and a medallion accompanies each award.

Since its inception, Brandeis University has placed great emphasis on basic science and its relationship to medicine. With the formation of the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center, made possible by the generosity of Lewis S. Rosenstiel in 1968, research in basic medical science has been significantly expanded. These awards are viewed as a means of extending the Center’s support beyond the campus community.

50th (2020) Winners

50th Annual Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award in Basic Medical Research Lectures Modific ations of Synthetic RNA to Develop mRNA Therapeutics and Vaccines Katalin Karik <97> and Drew Weissman with congratulatory remarks by Anthony Fauci and Derrick J. Rossi Monday February 8, 2021, 12:00 p.m. via Zoom

for their pioneering work in the modification of nucleic acids to develop RNA therapeutics and vaccines

Video: virtual 50th Award ceremony

Katalina KarikóSenior Vice President, RNA Protein Replacement Therapies
BioNTech SE
Mainz, Germany

Drew WeissmanProfessor of Medicine
Co-Director, Penn Center for AIDS Research, Immunology Core
Director of Vaccine Research, Infectious Diseases Division
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA USA