Zachary Matuskeski accepts post doc at Ohio State University

Morton Keller and Julian Zelizer, '91 discuss bipartisanship and the Trump presidency in the Atlantic

Memorial Held at OAH meeting in New Orleans for GW Professor Emeritus James Oliver Horton (Ph.D. '73)

Carina Ray's book Crossing the Color Line wins AHA 2016 Wesley-Logan Prize

Brian Donahue elected member of the American Antiquarian Society

Brandeis History Alumnus Benjamin Irvin (Ph.D. 2004) named executive editor of the Journal of American History

Princeton Professor Julian Zelizer, Brandeis History '91, writes on campus activism in Brandeis Magazine

Paul Jankowski attends Battle of Verdun 100th anniversary commemorative event along with heads of state.

Paul Jankowski publishes feature article in Le Monde

Illustrious Brandeis History Alumna Nancy F. Cott (Ph.D. 1974) Begins Term as Organization of American Historians President

PhD candidate Geraldine Gudefin awarded prestigious Posen Foundation fellowship

Naghmeh Sohrabi writes on the power of books in Age of Revolutions blog

In a new article for TIME, Ph.D. Candidate Sascha Cohen explores the history of sexual harassment in America

Paul Jankowski in demand for expert commentary on the centennial of the Battle of Verdun

Paul Jankowski marks 100th Anniversary of the Start of the Battle of Verdun in NY Times Op-ed

Greg Childs publishes article in Social Text

Xing Hang publishes book, Conflict and Commerce in Maritime East Asia, with Cambridge University Press

History Department Statement on #FordHall2015

Sascha Cohen Marks the 40th Anniversary of Susan Brownmiller's Book, 'Against Our Will' in TIME.

David Hackett Fischer wins Pritzker Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement

French-Canadian docudrama based on Fischer’s book wins a prix Gémeaux

Michael Willrich offers Historical Perspective on Anti-Vaxxers in Brandeis Magazine

Brandeis History Department Ranks 8th in Nation

Illustrious Brandeis History Alumna Nancy F. Cott (Ph.D. 1974) Begins Term as Organization of American Historians President

Apr. 26, 2016

Nancy F. Cott, Brandeis Ph.D. 1974 and the Jonathan Trumbull Professor of American History at Harvard University, began her term as the president of the Organization of American Historians (OAH) with a ceremonial passing of the gavel at the conclusion of the group’s annual business meeting on April 9 in Providence, Rhode Island.

Ever since publishing her Brandeis dissertation as The Bonds of Womanhood: “Woman’s Sphere” in New England, 1780-1835 (1977), Nancy Cott has been an intellectual leader in the field of American history, ranging more and more widely with each new project, and advising students who have gone on to great success, including former Brandeis historian Jane Kamensky.  Cott’s later books include, The Grounding of Modern Feminism (1987), and Public Vows: A History of Marriage and the Nation (2000). She is currently working on a study of youthful Americans working abroad between the two world wars, during decades of global struggle for predominance between democracy, communism and fascism.

Cott has taught at Harvard since 2002, when she joined its faculty as the Carl and Lily Pforzheimer Foundation Director of the Schlesinger Library in the Radcliffe Institute, and professor of history. Prior to that, she taught at Yale University for more than 25 years, departing as Sterling Professor of History and American Studies. She was one of the founders of Yale’s Women’s Studies Program, which she chaired for many years, and also served as chair of the American Studies Program. 

A member of OAH's Distinguished Lectureship Program, Cott frequently lectures on the history of marriage in the United States and also on the generation that came of age in the 1920s. Of her selection as OAH president, David Engerman, Ottilie Springer Professor of History and Department Chair states, “It's wonderful that the OAH has seen fit to add the mantle of organizational leadership to Nancy’s many and varied accomplishments.  We celebrate Nancy's achievements, which led her to this honor, and wish her a successful year as OAH president.”