Faculty


physics department faculty

Faculty / Contact

Area of Expertise

aparna baskaran Aparna Baskaran
Abelson 306
(781) 736-2866
aparna@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory; nonequilibrium statistical mechanics; emergent phenomena such as phase transitions and pattern formation in far-from-equilibrium complex fluids including granular materials, self-propelled particles and other active materials.
james r. bensinger James R. Bensinger
Abelson 312
(781) 736-2875
bensinger@brandeis.edu
Interactions of fundamental particles at the highest possible energy. Development and operation of the Atlas Experiment on the Large Hadron Collider at CERN with the Brandeis experimental high-energy physics group.
craig a. blocker Craig A. Blocker
Abelson 323
(781) 736-2879
blocker@brandeis.edu
Graduate advising head
High-energy proton-proton collisions in the ATLAS detector at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, properties of the Higgs boson, search for new physics beyond the Standard Model, including lepton-flavor violation, excited leptons, and left-right symmetric models.
Bulbul Chakraborty Bulbul Chakraborty
Abelson 345/346
(781) 736-2843
bulbul@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory, especially systems far from equilibrium; glassy dynamics in supercooled liquids; granular media and the jamming of granular flows; modelling the dynamical instability in microtubules.
dogic Zvonimir Dogic
Abelson 222
(781) 736-2167
zdogic@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids and biological physics; understanding and controling the self-assembly of matter on a colloidal length scale; assembly, phase transitions and dynamics of colloidal systems under nonequilibrium conditions.
seth fraden Seth Fraden
Abelson 214
(781) 736-2888
fraden@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids; interparticle interactions and phase transitions in colloidal suspensions; entropy driven disorder-to-order transitions; physics of protein crystallization and the development of microfluidic-based, high-throughput crystallization devices.
michael hagan Michael Hagan
Abelson 347
(781) 736-2845
hagan@brandeis.edu
Application of statistical mechanics, modern computational techniques, and theory to problems in biology and condensed matter physics; assembly of viral capsids and other large protein complexes; pattern formation in collections of internally driven particles; effects of molecular chirality on large-scale structure.
matthew headrick Matthew Headrick
Abelson 310
(781) 736-2858
mph@brandeis.edu
String theory and related areas of quantum field theory, general relativity and geometry; elliptic numerical relativity; quantum information theory and its relation to holography and quantum gravity.
lawrence e. kirsch Lawrence E. Kirsch
Abelson 313
(781) 736-2841
kirsch@brandeis.edu
Experiments at the Collider Detector Facility at Fermi Laboratory to study antiproton-proton interactions in the 2 TeV range; studies of multiparton collisions; construction of the muon subsystem for the ATLAS detector at CERN with the experimental high-energy physics group.
Jané kondev Jané Kondev
Department Chair
Abelson 301
(781) 736-2812
kondev@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory and quantitative biology; application of condensed matter physics models to problems in molecular and cell biology such as regulation of gene expression and chromosome structure.
albion Albion Lawrence
Abelson 344
(781) 736-2865
albion@brandeis.edu
Quantum field theory; string theory and their applications to particle physics, cosmology and quantum gravity; interface between theoretical physics and mathematics, especially algebraic geometry; application of quantum field theory to condensed matter physics.
david h. roberts David H. Roberts
Abelson 326
(781) 736-2846
roberts@brandeis.edu Undergraduate Advising Head
Member of the astrophysics group; high-resolution astronomical observations of active galaxies at wavelengths covering the entire electromagnetic spectrum. These are carried out with the Very Large Array and the Very Long Baseline Array.
azadeh samadani Azadeh Samadani
Abelson 221
(781) 736-2857
azadeh@brandeis.edu
Soft condensed matter and biological physics. Study of biological questions at the systems level, e.g., directional sensing mechanisms in eukaryotic cells; swimming microorganisms; population dynamics, pattern formation, predator-prey interaction.
howard j. schnitzer Howard J. Schnitzer
Abelson 349
(781) 736-2882
schnitzr@brandeis.edu
Quantum field theory, conformal field theory and the theory of strings; testing M-theory by comparison of its predictions with known results of N=2 Seiberg-Witten supersymmetric gauge theories.
Gabriella Sciolla Gabriella Sciolla
Abelson 313
(781) 736-2841
sciolla@brandeis.edu
Experimental high-energy physics group; Higgs boson properties; searches for physics beyond the Standard Model (Exotics);  Dark Matter searches at the LHC; reconstruction and calibration of the ATLAS muon system.
johnwardle John F.C. Wardle
Abelson 329
(781) 736-2889
wardle@brandeis.edu
Astrophysics group. Polarization-sensitive observations of extragalactic radio sources, using the Very Large Array and the Very Long Baseline Array of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory. Observations of X-ray–emitting jets in quasars with the Chandra Observatory.
hermann f. wellenstein Hermann F. Wellenstein
Abelson 121
(781) 736-2850
wellenst@brandeis.edu
Interactions of fundamental particles at the highest possible energy; design, building and testing with the other members of the Brandeis experimental high-energy physics group, the muon detector for the Atlas Experiment on the Large Hadron Collider at CERN.

Teaching and Adjunct Faculty


richard n. fell Richard N. Fell
Abelson 311
(781) 736-2860
fell@brandeis.edu

Emeritus Faculty
(still active in research and/or teaching)

Stanley Deser
Marcus T. Grisaru
Peter Heller
Robert V. Lange
Robert Meyer
Hugh N. Pendleton III
Alfred G. Redfield
Silvan S. Schweber

In Memoriam

Karl F. Canter