University Academic Organization

The provost is the chief academic officer of the university with administrative authority under the president for setting and implementing academic policy. The provost provides strategic leadership for the academy to achieve the university's academic mission and to improve the quality of the institution's teaching, learning and scholarship. The provost is also responsible for academic governance and strategic planning for the university.

The Provost is the second-ranking member of the administration. The Provost works closely and collaboratively with the President, and presides over the affairs of the university in the absence of the President.  

University Advisory Council (UAC)

Senior Management Team (SMT)

Expand All / Collapse All

Integrated Planning and Budget Committee (IPBC)

The IPBC discusses issues related to the short, medium and long-term budget goals of the University, bearing in mind the University’s mission and goals. It familiarizes itself with the needs and aspirations of the various units and provides guidance to senior administration in shaping the budget. IPBC is chaired by the Provost.

2016-17 IPBC Membership
  • Lisa Lynch, Provost (chair)
  • Susan Birren, Dean of Arts and Sciences
  • Eric Chasalow, Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
  • Marianne Cwalina, Senior Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer
  • Daniel Feldman, Vice President for Planning and Institutional Research
  • Andrew Flagel, Senior Vice President for Students and Enrollment
  • Kim Godsoe, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
  • James Gray, Vice President of Operations
  • Ed Hackett, Vice Provost for Research
  • Marty Krauss, Interim Dean of The Heller School for Social Policy and Management
  • Jim La Creta, Chief Information Officer
  • Karen Muncaster, Vice President for the Rabb School
  • Robin Nelson-Bailey, Vice President of Human Resources
  • Carol Osler, Chair of the University Budget Committee
  • Peter Petri, Interim Dean of the Brandeis International Business School
  • Matthew Sheehy, Interim University Librarian
  • Stewart Uretsky, Executive Vice President forFinance and Administration
  • Nancy Winship, Senior Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Staff support for the IPBC

  • Roland Maher, Assistant Provost for Administration and Finance