Committee on Academic Standards and Policy

VI.D.2.b. Committee on Academic Standards and Policy

i. The Committee on Academic Standards and Policy advises the Provost concerning curriculum, the course approval process across schools, the coordination of policy manuals across schools, and the coordination and communication of degree and program requirements. The Committee reviews all academic policies pertaining to students, addresses systemic advising issues, offers policy guidelines, coordinates student support across schools and develops new academic and co-curricular opportunities. In addition, the Committee will review proposals to start new academic program units or conclude current ones.
ii. The Committee is chaired by the Provost and composed of the Deans of Arts & Sciences, the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Heller, IBS, the VP of the Rabb School and six faculty. One faculty member will be selected from each Division in Arts & Sciences (Creative Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences), one from Heller, and one from IBS. The committee will meet at least monthly.
iii. Any subcommittee formed in this committee must include at least two faculty members.
iv. The first group of faculty selected for this committee will serve two- or three-year terms, decided at random by the chair of the committee. Faculty selected for this committee after the first group will all be selected for three-year terms.
v. The Provost appoints staff representatives ex-officio to the committee.

 2020-21 Members

  • Lisa Lynch, Provost (chair)
  • Eric Chasalow, Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
  • Katy Graddy, Dean, Brandeis International Business School (IBS)
  • Dorothy Hodgson, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Lynne Rosansky, Interim Vice President, Rabb School of Continuing Studies
  • David Weil, Dean, Heller School for Social Policy and Management


  • Paul Dizio, Psychology/Science (2019-2022)
  • Jane Ebert, IBS (2019-2022)
  • Matthew Fraleigh, GRALL/Humanities (2019-2022)
  • Alfredo Gisholt, Fine Arts/Creative Arts (2019-2021)
  • Dan Kryder, Politics/Social Sciences (2019-2021)
  • Monika Mitra, Heller (2019-2021)