Committee on Strategy and Planning

VI.D.2.a. Committee on Strategy and Planning

i. The Committee on Strategy and Planning advises the President about the annual and long-term priorities for the university derived from Board-approved institutional priorities. The committee will tackle strategic questions and match priorities and strategic decision to budget priorities at the highest level. The Committee on Strategy and Planning will have one subcommittee – the Budget and Priorities Subcommittee. The Subcommittee will analyze and quantify high level financial priorities. The Subcommittee will be the forum through which each part of the university will put forward its needs and priorities and learn about the needs and priorities of other areas. The Subcommittee will review the university budget proposal before the budget submission to the Committee on Strategy and Planning.
ii. The Committee is chaired by the President and composed of the Provost, Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration, the Deans (from Arts & Sciences, the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Heller, IBS and the VP of the Rabb School), and seven faculty. One faculty member will be elected from each Division in Arts & Sciences (Creative Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences), one from Heller, one from IBS, and one member of the Faculty Senate, elected by the Senate annually. The committee will meet at least monthly.
iii. The Subcommittee is comprised of members of the Committee and is co-chaired by the Provost and the Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration. The Subcommittee must include two faculty members and relevant staff, including the Chief Financial Officer, as needed. The subcommittee will meet at least monthly and report on cross-institution financial needs and budgets at each meeting of the Committee on Strategy and Planning.
iv. Except for the Faculty Senate representative, who is elected annually, the first group of faculty elected for this committee will serve two- or three-year terms, decided at random by the chair of the committee. Faculty elected for this committee after the first group will all be elected for three-year terms.

2019-20 Members


  • Ron Liebowitz, President (chair)
  • Lisa Lynch, Provost and EVP Academic Affairs
  • Stew Uretsky, EVP Finance and Administration
  • Dorothy Hodgson, Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Eric Chasalow, Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
  • David Weil, Dean, Heller School for Social Policy and Management
  • Katy Graddy, Dean, Brandeis International Business School (IBS)
  • Lynne Rosansky, Interim Vice President, Rabb School of Continuing Studies


  • Stephen Cecchetti, IBS, (2018-2020)
  • Carole Carlson, The Heller School, (2018-2021)
  • Charles Golden, Anthropology, (2018-2020)
  • Robin Miller, German, Russian, and Asian Languages and Literature, (2018-2021)
  • Sacha Nelson, Biology, (2018-2021)
  • Joseph Wardwell, Fine Arts, (2018-2020)
  • Grace Zimmerman, IBS, (2019-2020)