Provost Research Grants

The Provost’s Office is pleased to support projects that initiate innovative scholarly inquiry and creative activities that have the potential for significant, sustained impact. Our office supports projects in their early stages, often collaborative proposals that involve multiple departments or schools and proposals with convincing plans to develop and sustain a long-term activity. Supported projects have significant impacts, and are sustainable beyond the lifetime of the award.

The call for proposals goes out in January and recipients are announced at the beginning of March. In the fall of each year, the previous year's recipients present their work at the annual Inquiry event.

Chandler Rosenberger

The Roots and Rhetoric of Contemporary Chinese Nationalism: Rosenberger studies Xi Jinping’s rhetoric to see which traditional themes he has abandoned or reshaped; he then compares Xi's use of these terms to the language of protest as seen on social media sites such as Wechat and Baidu.

Elizabeth Bradfield

The Horsehead’s Return: Gray Seals Rewilding New England. Book project: A general interest nonfiction book about the story of the gray seal’s return; its life history; its complicated reception by residents, tourists and fisher-folk; and scientists’ work to understand its role in the ecosystem.

Abby Cooper

Black Freedom Database and Mapping Project: In an historical database of refugee camps as pivotal meeting grounds for emancipation, Cooper examines refugee camps over the course of the Civil War period, connecting and comparing experiences across the South.

Sabine von Mering

An Examination of the German Climate Movement and Germany’s Path to a Socio-Ecological Transformation. Book project: The German climate movement is deeply divided about the right path to the urgently needed radical socio-ecological transformation of our societies required to address the climate crisis. The question is why.

Peter Kreiner

Spread of risky prescribing behavior in prescriber patient-sharing networks: The project will use 2010 – 2016 data from Maine’s prescription drug monitoring program (PDMP) to examine prescriber patient-sharing networks in relation to risky prescribing behavior.

Paul Jankowski

The winter of 1932-33 and the Fragmentation of the World. Book project: In 1932-33, the world dissolved into competing nationalisms in the run up to the Second World War. Different as they were, such beliefs yet conspired that winter to wreck what was left of the fragile experiments in world order of the 1920s.

Yuko Nakajima

Outsmarting smart bugs: blocking immune evasion by Lyme and other pathogens: To overcome the challenges around antibiotic treatment of Lyme disease, I aim to develop a new class of drugs that potentiates our body’s ability to effectively eliminate the pathogen by blocking its ability to evade our immune system.

Karen Desmond

The Measuring Polyphony project developed a methodology and workflow for digitally encoding medieval music. Launched in May 2018, the project website provides free and public access to downloads to the digital encodings, audio files, and PDFs of the music scores, and links to high-resolution images of the original medieval manuscripts.

Tijana Ivanovic

An interdisciplinary approach to unraveling viral adaptation: The Ivanovic Lab in Biochemistry and the Rogers Lab in Physics collaboratively tackle questions related to viral adaptation that are intractable within traditional academic boundaries.

Steve Van Hooser

Testing dense electrode arrays for studying neural networks: A major goal of neuroscience is to understand how the billions of neurons in the brain work together in networks to mediate perception and behavior. This project focuses on generating experimental data so that external funding applications from NSF or NIH will be successful.

Marion Howard     

Forgotten Voices: Ocean identity and heritage of the Raizal people of Colombia’s San Andres Archipelago, western Caribbean: Examining ocean heritage through the voices of these indigenous island people will expand knowledge of identity, territory, patrimony, and human connections to the sea, potentially contributing to more effective, equitable policy and management. This project explores a “marine sense of place” in the worldview of the Raizal people of Colombia's San Andres Archipelago.

Bernadette Brooten    

Black Women Students' Perceptions of Resources on Sexual Harassment/Sexual Violence and Racial Harassment/Racial Violence; Hindrances to Their Reporting; and Their Ideas for Ensuring Their Safety on a College Campus: Racialization of sexuality and of sexual violence has a long history in the U.S., especially during the eras of legal slavery and Jim Crow. These legacies live on in, e.g., the criminal justice system and in popular culture consumed by students that contains harmful racial-sexual stereotypes. We investigate, via at least three focus groups and student researchers' participant observation (with IRB approval) how sexual harassment and sexual violence against black college students who identify as female might intersect with experiences of racial harassment or racial violence.