Brandeis Researchers in the News

Our faculty make an impact — in the classroom and in the field. As intellectual pioneers and engaged scholars, faculty in every discipline garner top awards and recognition for inspiring outstanding work.

Jonathan Decter
Jewish Book Council’s 2018 National Jewish Book Award winner
Jonathan Decter, Edmond J. Safra Professor of Sephardic Studies

Professor Decter's research focuses on Jewish literature in the Islamic World during the medieval period, and in Sephardic Studies more generally. Professor Decter's most recent course offerings include Jews in the World of Islam; Introduction to Judaism, Christianity, and Islam; and Judeo-Arabic literature.

Room for rent sign

"My hope is that this research will illuminate two things: first, that an extremely high number of renters are experiencing housing problems, and second, that every level of government should be involved in implementing a policy response to that problem."

Jill Greenlee
Jill Greenlee
Associate Professor of Politics

Professor Jill Greenlee teaches American Politics, Political Behavior, Political Socialization, Public Opinion, Women and Politics, Racial Attitudes, and Research Methods at Brandeis University. She is interested in how individuals change politically as they move through the life course. Her work has been published recently in the Atlantic, and in the Washington Post. Read more about her work on how dads vote.

Author outside near snow-topped mountain
Elizabeth Bradfield
English Faculty

Elizabeth Bradfeild, Faculty member in the Department of English, recently received a Provost Research Grant to write a general interest nonfiction book about the story of the gray seal’s return; its life history; its complicated reception by residents, tourists and fisher-folk; and scientists’ work to understand its role in the ecosystem. Read more about her book.

Photo at night of the science center
AAAS Fellows announced
Edward Hackett, Gina Turrigiano, and Leslie Griffith

The American Association for the Advancement of Science honors three Brandeis scholars. Edward Hackett, Vice Provost for Research; Gina Turrigiano, Joseph Levitan Professor of Vision Science; and Leslie Griffith, Professor of Biology and Director of the Volen National Center for Complex Systems were named Fellows. The title is one of the most prestigious designations in academia.