Photo of Louis Brandeis statue

Brandeis’ 9th president

The Brandeis University Board of Trustees voted to appoint Ronald D. Liebowitz as Brandeis’ ninth president. Liebowitz assumed the office on July 1, 2016 and was inaugurated on November 3, 2016.

Welcome to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees, composed of up to 50 elected members, is responsible for and is the final authority on all aspects of the university's operations. The specific functions of the Board of Trustees are reflected by the standing committees of the Board: Coordination; Academy; Risk Management & Audit; Resources; Institutional Advancement; Investment; Nominating and Governance. 

The Board of Trustees selects the president of the university, who is responsible solely to the board. In addition to the members, the board also includes four faculty and three student representatives. Ex officio members include the chair of the Fellows, the president of the Brandeis National Committee, the president of the Alumni Association and the president of the Faculty Senate.

The officers of the board include chair, vice chairs, treasurer and secretary. The Board of Trustees began in 1947 with George Alpert as its first chair.