Faculty

physics department faculty

Faculty / Contact

Area of Expertise

aparna baskaran Aparna Baskaran
Abelson 306
(781) 736-2866
aparna@brandeis.edu
Undergraduate Advising Head
Condensed matter theory; nonequilibrium statistical mechanics; emergent phenomena such as phase transitions and pattern formation in far-from-equilibrium complex fluids including granular materials, self-propelled particles and other active materials.
james r. bensinger James R. Bensinger
Abelson 312
(781) 736-2875
bensinger@brandeis.edu
Interactions of fundamental particles at the highest possible energy. Development and operation of the Atlas Experiment on the Large Hadron Collider at CERN with the Brandeis experimental high-energy physics group.
craig a. blocker Craig A. Blocker
Abelson 323
(781) 736-2879
blocker@brandeis.edu
Graduate advising head
High-energy proton-proton collisions in the ATLAS detector at the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, properties of the Higgs boson, search for new physics beyond the Standard Model, including lepton-flavor violation, excited leptons, and left-right symmetric models.
Bulbul Chakraborty Bulbul Chakraborty
Abelson 345/346
(781) 736-2843
bulbul@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory, especially systems far from equilibrium; glassy dynamics in supercooled liquids; granular media and the jamming of granular flows; modelling the dynamical instability in microtubules.
dogic Zvonimir Dogic
Abelson 222
(781) 736-2167
zdogic@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids and biological physics; understanding and controling the self-assembly of matter on a colloidal length scale; assembly, phase transitions and dynamics of colloidal systems under nonequilibrium conditions.
seth fraden Seth Fraden
Abelson 214
(781) 736-2888
fraden@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids; interparticle interactions and phase transitions in colloidal suspensions; entropy driven disorder-to-order transitions; physics of protein crystallization and the development of microfluidic-based, high-throughout crystallization devices.
michael hagan Michael Hagan
Abelson 350
(781) 736-2845
hagan@brandeis.edu
Application of statistical mechanics, modern computational techniques, and theory to problems in biology and condensed matter physics; assembly of viral capsids and other large protein complexes; pattern formation in collections of internally driven particles; effects of molecular chirality on large-scale structure.
matthew headrick Matthew Headrick
Abelson 313
(781) 736-2858
mph@brandeis.edu
String theory and related areas of quantum field theory, general relativity and geometry; elliptic numerical relativity; quantum information theory and its relation to holography and quantum gravity.
kondev Jané Kondev
Department Chair
Abelson 301
(781) 736-2812
kondev@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory and quantitative biology; application of condensed matter physics models to problems in molecular and cell biology such as regulation of gene expression and chromosome structure.
albion Albion Lawrence
Abelson 344
(781) 736-2865
albion@brandeis.edu
Quantum field theory; string theory and their applications to particle physics, cosmology and quantum gravity; interface between theoretical physics and mathematics, especially algebraic geometry; application of quantum field theory to condensed matter physics.
Bjoern Penning Bjoern Penning
Abelson 326
(781) 736-2806
penning@brandeis.edu
Experimental Dark Matter (DM) searches and DM phenomenology; DM searches with the LZ experiment and at the LHC, interdisciplinary combination of DM measurements and models. Hardware developments for the LZ detector.
rogers W. Benjamin Rogers  
Abelson 221
781-736-2857
wrogers@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids and biological physics; programmable self-assembly of soft materials; colloidal interactions and phase transitions; DNA nanotechnology; self-organization of active matter; optical trapping and single-molecule science.
howard j. schnitzer Howard J. Schnitzer
Abelson 349
(781) 736-2882
schnitzr@brandeis.edu
Quantum field theory, conformal field theory and the theory of strings; testing M-theory by comparison of its predictions with known results of N=2 Seiberg-Witten supersymmetric gauge theories.
Gabriella Sciolla Gabriella Sciolla
Abelson 347
(781) 736-2841
sciolla@brandeis.edu
Experimental high-energy physics group; Higgs boson properties; searches for physics beyond the Standard Model (Exotics);  Dark Matter searches at the LHC; reconstruction and calibration of the ATLAS muon system.
Marcelle Soares-Santos Marcelle Soares-Santos
Abelson 329
(781) 736-2870
marcelle@brandeis.edu
Dark Energy, Cosmology and Astrophysics with the Dark Energy Survey (DES) and the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST).
johnwardle John F.C. Wardle
Abelson 328
(781) 736-2889
wardle@brandeis.edu
Astrophysics group. Polarization-sensitive observations of extragalactic radio sources, using the Very Large Array and the Very Long Baseline Array of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory. Observations of X-ray–emitting jets in quasars with the Chandra Observatory.

Teaching and Adjunct Faculty


richard n. fell Richard N. Fell
Abelson 311
(781) 736-2860
fell@brandeis.edu
hashemi Kevan Hashemi
Abelson 028
(781) 736-2810
hashemi@brandeis.edu
High Energy Physics (HEP) group. Design, manufacture, and testing of opto-electronic devices for the ATLAS detector at CERN, Switzerland. The HEP electronics shop focuses on low-power, radiation-tolerant, high-reliability circuit designs for precision metrology.
Peter Mistark Peter Mistark
pmistark@brandeis.edu

Emeritus Faculty
(still active in research and/or teaching)

Stanley Deser
Marcus T. Grisaru
Peter Heller
Lawrence E. Kirsch
Robert V. Lange
Robert Meyer
Alfred G. Redfield
David Roberts
Hermann Wellenstein