Graduate Students


Leanna Barlow
, Ph.D. student
International Relations, Comparative Politics; conflict prevention, peacebuilding, ethnic conflict, and international security.
lbarlow@brandeis.edu

Joanna Do Ph.D. student
International Relations, Comparative Politics; migration, security studies, East and Southeast Asian politics.
jdo@brandeis.edu

Karim Elkady, Ph.D. student
International Relations; U.S. foreign policy, U.S. national security, the effect of lobbies and interest groups on U.S. foreign policy, U.S. policy towards the Middle East.
kkady@brandeis.edu

Sarah J. Feuer, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, Political Theory; history of ideas, Arab politics and Islamic political thought.
sjfeuer@brandeis.edu

Paul Emerson Herron, Ph.D. student
American political development, American constitutional development, southern political history, public law, and history of ideas.
pherron@brandeis.edu

Danielle M. Higgins, M.A. student
Comparative Politics, Political Theory; contemporary Middle Eastern politics, religion in politics, democratic theory.
dhiggins@brandeis.edu

Jack Huguley, Ph.D. student
International Relations, Comparative Politics; security studies, grand strategy, nuclear deterrence, energy and natural resource scarcity.
jhuguley@brandeis.edu

Matthew Isaacs, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, International Relations; ethnic conflict, social mobilization, religious politics, and nationalism.
mdisaacs@brandeis.edu

Jeffrey G. Karam, Ph.D. student
International Relations, Comparative Politics; security studies, U.S. foreign policy, and Middle East politics.
jkaram@brandeis.edu

Yasser Kureshi, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, American Politics; judicial politics, democratization, comparative constitutionalism,  South Asian politics, and Middle East politics.
yasserkk@brandeis.edu 

Ryan LaRochelle, Ph.D. student
American political development; poverty, inequality, and social policy; civic engagement and participation; qualitative and historical research methods.
larochel@brandeis.edu

Jinmin Lee, Ph.D. student
Political Theory; history of political thought, fear and liberty, modernity, nationalism, the power of images, and gender studies.
jinmin@brandeis.edu

Victoria McGroary, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, International Relations; ethnic conflict.
mcgroary@brandeis.edu (CV)

Adam Smith, Ph.D. student
Democratic theory; religion and politics; politics and literature.
asmith@brandeis.edu (CV)

Paul Spalletta, Ph.D. student
Political Theory, American Politics; totalitarianism and democracy, nationalism, Ancient and contemporary political philosophy, political history and just war theory. 
phs@brandeis.edu

Catherine Z. Worsnop, Ph.D. student
International Relations, Comparative Politics; international organizations, global health, security studies.
czweig@brandeis.edu