Alumni

Click here for information about recent alumni publications and job placement.

Graduate Students

Benjamin Beutel, MA student
American, Comparative, and International Politics, is interested in political institutions and institutional/organizational behavior. 
beutel@brandeis.edu

Christiana Botticello, PhD student
Comparative Politics, International Relations; political and economic development in post-communist states, Russian politics, international cooperation and coalition building.
cbott@brandeis.edu

Jeremy Cynamon, PhD student
Political Theory; liberal political philosophy.
jkcynamon@brandeis.edu

Nathan Gray, PhD program
American Politics and Political Theory; public policy, particularly US education policy. 
ngray@brandeis.edu

Mika Hackner, MA student
Comparative Politics; democratization, democratic theory, party systems, and global migration. 
mhackner@brandeis.edu

Matthew Isaacs, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, International Relations; religious and ethnic politics; politics of religious institutions; political violence. mdisaacs@brandeis.edu

Khaula Kaiser, PhD student
Comparative Politics and International Relations; comparative politics of Turkey and Pakistan, and relations between Islam and the West. 
kkaiser@brandeis.edu

Yasser Kureshi, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, American Politics; judicial politics, democratization, comparative constitutionalism,  South Asian politics, and Middle East politics.
yasserkk@brandeis.edu 

Ned Littlefield, MA student
Comparative Politics and International Relations; security studies, conflict, and counter-narcotics, with a regional interest in Latin and Central America. 
nedlittlefield@brandeis.edu

Victoria McGroary, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, International Relations; secession, territorial conflict and insurgency, ethnic conflict, and security studies.
mcgroary@brandeis.edu

Lan Ngo, Ph.D. student
International Relations, Comparative Politics; U.S. foreign policy, U.S. grand strategy and use of force, U.S.-China relations.
ngodilan@brandeis.edu

Maria Smerkovich, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, International Relations, ethnic conflict, nationalism, violence and revolution, post-Soviet and Middle Eastern politics.
msmerk@brandeis.edu

Adam Smith, Ph.D. student
Political Theory; democratic theory, religion and politics, politics and literature.
asmith@brandeis.edu (CV)

Paul Spalletta, Ph.D. student
Political Theory, American Politics; totalitarianism and democracy, nationalism, Ancient and contemporary political philosophy, political history and just war theory. 
phs@brandeis.edu

Kelly Stedem, Ph.D. student
Comparative Politics, International Relations; contemporary Middle Eastern politics, religious politics, civil society.
kstedem@brandeis.edu

Merima Tricic,
PhD student
Comparative Politics and International Relations; political violence, ethnic politics, and terrorism, with a special interest in “Jihadi brides.”
merimatricic@brandeis.edu