GSA Senators


The Mission of the Senate

The very nature of graduate student life means your attention remains focused on your immediate department. Graduate students often feel isolated from the rest of the university or even within their very own department; we must therefore strive to create a vibrant and active sense of community in which all graduate students are welcome to participate—we are all in this noble but unrelenting voyage we call graduate school together.

The senate exists to ensure that the GSA is receiving enough information and feedback from those whom they represent; the senate is also responsible for getting the word out about graduate student programs to people who are spread apart between 3 different schools and throughout campus. The senate is also a forum for entertaining initiatives from the graduate community at large on how to spend the discretionary funds available from the activities fee and receiving feedback from the student body.

GSA Senator Position Description

Student Senators are elected in proportion to the numbers their schools represent in the graduate student population. They serve for a year and meet once a month to review issues concerning graduate students and make recommendations for action.

Senators are the folks who review our social and educational programming, suggest other activities we should be involved in, serve on University committees to assure that graduate student concerns are being brought to the table when University decisions are made. The senators review and approve the budget for the Graduate Student Association each semester.

Senators need to make a time commitment of 2 hours per month (meeting times and committee service) and perform outreach to their communities to identify needs, issues and concerns that need to be brought to the attention of the administration.

The 2015–2016 GSA Senators


Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Stephen Alkins

Stephen Alkins

salkins@brandeis.edu

Stefany Truesdell

Stefany Truesdell

tikvah@brandeis.edu

Shen Wang

Shen Wang

swbumem@brandeis.edu

James Martin

James Martin

martinja@brandeis.edu

Michelle Mann

Michelle Mann

zilliah9@brandeis.edu

Clair Dahm

Claire Dahm

cdahm@brandeis.edu

Vivekanand(Vivek) Pandey Vimal

Vivek

vvimaldhye@gmail.com

Wesley Heinrichs

Wesley Henrichs

wheinrichs@brandeis.edu

 
The Heller School of Public Policy and Management

Lesly Joseph

Lesly Joseph

jlesly@brandeis.edu

Iya Kazakevich

Iya Kazakevich

iyakaz@brandeis.edu

Muhammad Ilyas

Muhammad Ilyas

derfish@brandeis.edu

Phoenica Lewis

Phoenica Lewis

plew@brandeis.edu

Sohani Sirdeshmukh

Sohani Sirdeshmukh

sohani@brandeis.edu

Ndukaku Ogbonna

Ndukaku Ogbonna

ndukaogbonna@brandeis.edu

Oliver Supitux

Oliver Supitux

osupitux@brandeis.edu
The International Business School

Zhejing(Sali) Sun

Sali Sun

salisun@brandeis.edu

Yixin Zhang

Yixin Zhang

yxzhang@brandeis.edu

Carlo Guercia Sammarco

Carlo Guercia Sammarco

sammarco@brandeis.edu

Diana Litchi

Diana Litchi

dianalit@brandeis.edu