GSA Senators

The Mission of the Senate

The very nature of graduate student life means your attention remains focused on your immediate department. Graduate students often feel isolated from the rest of the university or even within their very own department; we must therefore strive to create a vibrant and active sense of community in which all graduate students are welcome to participate—we are all in this noble but unrelenting voyage we call graduate school together.

The current structure of graduate student community does not make it an easy task for the GSA to do our duties and stay in touch with the graduate student community at large. The senate exists to ensure that the GSA is receiving enough information and feedback from those whom they represent; the senate is also responsible for getting the word out about graduate student programs to people who are spread apart between 3 different schools and different sides of campus. The senate is also a forum for entertaining initiatives from the graduate community at large on how to spend the discretionary funds available from the activities fee and receiving feedback from the student body.

The 2014–2015 GSA Senators

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Stephen Alkins

Stephen Alkins

Brian Beckett

Brian Beckett 2013-14 Senator

Cassandra Berman

Cassandra Berman 2013-14 Senate

Jeffrey Karam

Timothy Lauer

Timothy Lauer Senate 2014-14

Adriane Otopalik
Philip Wight

The Heller School of Public Policy and Management

Princess Osita-Oleribe


Elise Willer

Elise Willer, Senator 2014-15
The International Business School
Krishna Mehra

Zarea Qranbaish

Partha Shah

Kaushal Vaddiraj

Kaushal Vaddiraj

Representative to the Board of Trustees
Elizabeth Pierce

Position Descriptions

GSA Senator

Student Senators are elected in proportion to the numbers their schools represent in the graduate student population. They serve for a year and meet once a month to review issues concerning graduate students and make recommendations for action.

Senators are the folks who review our social and educational programming, suggest other activities we should be involved in, serve on University committees to assure that graduate student concerns are being brought to the table when University decisions are made. The senators review and approve the budget for the Graduate Student Association each semester.

Senators need to make a time commitment of 2 hours per month (meeting times and committee service) and perform outreach to their communities to identify needs, issues and concerns that need to be brought to the attention of the administration.

Representative to the Board of Trustees

The Representative to the Board of Trustees is elected by the student body for a 2-year term (beginning in fall 2013, ending spring 2015). This position requires a more significant time commitment: preparation for and attendance at Board of Trustee meetings each semester, membership and participation in the Committee on Graduate Student Issues (COGSI) which meets 3-4 times during the school year with staff from the three schools and the Provost's Office, and, serving as a voting member of the GSA Executive Committee.

Because of the 2-year commitment, this position is limited to students in doctoral programs.