FOR MORE INFORMATION


Catherine Broderick
(781) 736-2803
cbroderi@brandeis.edu  

List of Events

Spring 2017

All seminars take place at 2pm on Thursdays in Abelson 229, unless otherwise indicated.

Jump to next seminar


Wednesday, February 8

4pm (note later time)
Abelson 229
Baylor Fox-Kemper (Brown University)
From climate to Kolmogorov - upper ocean variability across scales
Host: Albion Lawrence
Thursday, March 2

Pavel Chvykov (MIT)
Principle of least rattling: a tale of non-equilibrium systems with disparate timescales
Host: Albion Lawrence

Abstract: For a large class of complicated interacting many-body systems, equilibrium thermodynamics manages to provide surprisingly simple principles governing the behaviors of some macroscopic, or coarse-grained, variables -- such as pressure or total energy. Nonetheless, many systems found in nature -- such as in biochemistry, ecology, traffic modelling, etc -- fall outside the constraints of equilibrium as they operate on constant energy fluxes. The vast generality of these non-equilibrium systems forces us to make simplifying assumptions to make progress: in this talk I restrict to dynamics with strong time-scale separation between a class of slowly varying degrees of freedom of interest, and the fast microscopic variables. I argue that in this case, quite generally, the slow variables tend to seek out the locations where fast dynamics are, in some sense, least chaotic or random. While illustrating this effect in specific toy-model simulations of a kicked-rotor on a cart, I also argue for more general applicability of the presented principle to active matter systems or even evolutionary adaptation. 
Monday, March 6

Srikanth Sastry (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research)
2:00pm, Abelson 229
TBA
Host: Prof. Bulbul Chakraborty


Thursday, March 9
Open
Thursday, March 16
Open
Thursday, March 23
Open
Thursday, March 30

Walter Fontana (Harvard Medical School)
Title: TBA

Thursday, April 6
Open
Thursday, April 13
No seminar -- Passover and spring recess
Thursday, April 20

Archana Kamal (U Mass Lowell)
TBA
Host: Albion Lawrence

Thursday, April 27
Open