FOR MORE INFORMATION

Catherine Broderick
(781) 736-2803
cbroderi@brandeis.edu

List of Events

IGERT Seminars will normally be held at 12:00 p.m. in Goldsmith 226 unless otherwise noted.
 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

12:00 pm
Shapiro Campus Center, Multi-Purpose Room, Room 236
Bard Ermentrout, University of Pittsburgh
Keeping the beat : Homeostatic frequency control in coupled oscillators
Host: Paul Miller


Wednesday, January 28, 2015


Wednesday, February 04, 2015

12:00 pm
Goldsmith 226
Anatoli Polkovnikov, BU
Emergent non-adiabatic dynamics and geometric response in interacting systems
Host: Albion Lawrence


Wednesday, February 11, 2015


Wednesday, February 18, 2015
No seminar (Midterm Recess)


Wednesday, February 25, 2015

No seminar.


Wednesday, March 4, 2015
No seminar (Neuroscience faculty meeting)


Wednesday, March 11, 2015

12:00pm
Goldsmith 226
Brad Marston, Brown University
The Quantum and Fluid Mechanics of Climate Change
Host: Albion Lawrence


Wednesday, March 18, 2015


Wednesday, March 25, 2015

12:00pm
Goldsmith 226
Maxim Braverman (Northeastern University)
Berry phase and the phase of the determinant
Host: Daniel Ruberman

Abstract: In 1984 Michael Berry discovered that an isolated eigenstate of an adiabatically changing periodic Hamiltonian acquires a phase, called the Berry phase. Barry Simon gave an interpretation of this phase in terms of the holonomy of a certain Hermitian line bundle. There are several situation described in physical literature when the Berry phase is claimed to be equal to the phase of the  determinant of the corresponding imaginary-time Schroedinger operator. However not only rigorous proofs but even the accurate formulations of these results are missing in the literature.   In this talk we establish and prove the precise relationship between the phase of this determinant and the Berry phase under the most general assumption on the Hamiltonian. The previously known examples  are the special cases of this formula.



Wednesday, April 1, 2015


Wednesday, April 8, 2015
No seminar. (Neuroscience faculty meeting and Spring Recess).


Wednesday, April 15, 2015


Wednesday, April 22, 2015

12:00pm
Goldsmith 226
Sho Yaida, Duke University
Panoramic correlations in glassy systems
Host: Albion Lawrence