Have a Question?

Elaine Wong
Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education

Brandeis University Teaching Awards

Brandeis students, faculty, and alumni are invited to nominate outstanding professors for the Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer ’69 and Joseph Neubauer Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring, which honors an individual who is involved in the co-curricular and extracurricular life of the campus, and more importantly, has had a significant impact on students’ lives as an exceptional teacher, mentor, advisor and friend.  Lerman-Neubauer Prize recipients in the past competitions have been tenured, full time members of the faculty. The award carries a stipend of $5,000.00 and will be presented at the April 2020 faculty meeting.

Nominations are also invited for two other awards: the Michael L. Walzer ’56 Award for Teaching ($2500 stipend for tenure track faculty) and the Louis Dembitz Brandeis Prize for Excellence in Teaching ($2500 stipend for tenured or contract faculty). Past award winners for the three continuing awards are listed on line at:

Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer '69 Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring 

Walzer '56 Award for Teaching  

To nominate a member of the Brandeis faculty for the above three awards, please complete our electronic form located here.

Submissions for next year are due by 9 AM on Monday, March 2, 2020.