Human Research Protection Program

Institutional Review Board Members

The Brandeis University Institutional Review Board (IRB) is a diverse group comprising members of the faculty, administration and community imbued with scientific knowledge; an understanding of community mores; familiarity with institutional commitments, policies and procedures; and specific knowledge about regulations and the protection of human subjects in research.

2022-23 Academic Year

sharon reif
Sharon Reif, PhD
Chair, Institutional Review Board
Heller School for Social Policy and Management

Brandeis University
Scientist Member, Affiliated

Rosanna Hertz, PhD
Department of Women’s and Gender Studies

Wellesley College
Scientist Member, Affiliated

Lara Kuhn, PhD
Director of Research Integrity and Compliance

Brandeis University
Scientist Member, Affiliated
Prisoner Representative, Alternate

james lackner
James Lackner, PhD
Department of Psychology and Neuroscience

Brandeis University
Scientist Member, Affiliated

nancy maull
Nancy Maull, PhD
Retired - Isaacson Miller, Inc.

Non-scientist Member, Unaffiliated

Julie Norem headshot
Julie Norem, PhD
Department of Psychology

Wellesley College
Scientist Member, Affiliated
Alternate for Rosanna Hertz

Lori Parmet
Lori Parmet, MA
Assistant Director of Sponsored Programs

Olin College
Non-scientist Member, Affiliated

Jodi Sperber headshot
Jodi Sperber, PhD
Advisor and Consultant

Greater Boston Area
Scientist Member, Unaffiliated

joel thompson
Joel Thompson, JD
Harvard Prison Legal Assistance Project

Prisoner Representative, Unaffiliated

chi-jan yang
Chi-Jan Yang, MBA
Information and Technology Services

Brandeis University
Non-scientist Member, Affiliated