Full-Time Faculty


Faculty Contact Information
Area of Expertise
Office Hours
Elizabeth Ferry

Elizabeth Emma Ferry, Chair

Professor of Anthropology

ferry@brandeis.edu

Economic anthropology, collections, social studies of finance, materiality and value, labor, corporations and business, anthropology of mining and minerals. Mexico, U.S. Click
Jon Anjaria

Jonathan Shapiro Anjaria

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

janjaria@brandeis.edu

Urban anthropology, ethnographies of citizenship and the state, political ecology; South Asia Click
Charles Golden

Charles Golden

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Chair of Latin and Latin American Studies

cgolden@brandeis.edu

Archaeology of complex societies, modern contexts of archaeological research, Mesoamerica, the Maya. Click
Hannig

Anita Hannig

Assistant Professor of Anthropology

hannig@brandeis.edu

Medical anthropology, ritual and religion, gender, anthropology of the body, critical development studies, (post)colonialism; Ethiopia, Africa.

Click

sarah lamb

Sarah Lamb

Professor of Anthropology and Director of Graduate Studies

lamb@brandeis.edu

Sociocultural theory, gender, medical anthropology, aging, self and person, migration and transnationalism; South Asia, United States. Click
janet mcintosh

Janet McIntosh

Associate Professor of Anthropology

janetmc@brandeis.edu

Psychological anthropology, linguistic anthropology, religion; East Africa. Click
richard parmentier

Rick Parmentier

Professor of Anthropology

rparmentier@brandeis.edu

Semiotic anthropology, historical anthropology, communications and media, myth and ritual, Oceania, contemporary United States, Middle Ages. Click
ellen schattschneider 

Ellen Schattschneider

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Undergraduate Advisor

eschatt@brandeis.edu

Anthropology of religion, psychoanalytic theory, anthropology of the body, East Asia, Japan. Click
javier urcid

Javier Urcid,

Associate Professor of Anthropology

urcid@brandeis.edu

Archaeology, complex societies, writing systems, bioarchaeology; Mesoamerica. Click