Full-Time Faculty


Faculty Contact Information
Area of Expertise
Office Hours
 javier urcid

Javier Urcid, Chair

Associate Professor of Anthropology

urcid@brandeis.edu

Archaeology, complex societies, writing systems, bioarchaeology; Mesoamerica. Click
Jon Anjaria

Jonathan Shapiro Anjaria

Assistant Professor

janjaria@brandeis.edu

Urban anthropology, ethnographies of citizenship and the state, political ecology; South Asia Click
Elizabeth Ferry

Elizabeth Emma Ferry

Associate Professor of Anthropology

ferry@brandeis.edu

Economic anthropology, political anthropology, Mexico. Click
Charles Golden

Charles Golden

Associate Professor of Anthropology

cgolden@brandeis.edu

Archaeology of complex societies, modern contexts of archaeological research, Mesoamerica, the Maya. Click
sarah lamb

Sarah Lamb

Professor of Anthropology and Director of Graduate Studies

lamb@brandeis.edu

Sociocultural theory, gender, medical anthropology, aging, self and person, migration and transnationalism; South Asia, United States. Click
janet mcintosh

Janet McIntosh

Associate Professor of Anthropology

janetmc@brandeis.edu

Psychological anthropology, linguistic anthropology, religion; East Africa. Click
richard parmentier

Rick Parmentier

Professor of Anthropology and Chair, Graduate Program in Global Studies

rparmentier@brandeis.edu

Semiotic anthropology, historical anthropology, communications and media, myth and ritual, Oceania, contemporary United States, Middle Ages. Click
ellen schattschneider 

Ellen Schattschneider

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Undergraduate Advisor

eschatt@brandeis.edu

Anthropology of religion, psychoanalytic theory, anthropology of the body, East Asia, Japan. Click