Full-Time Faculty


Faculty Contact Information
Area of Expertise
Patricia Alvarez Stacie

Patricia Alvarez Astacio

Lecturer in Anthropology

palvarez@brandeis.edu

Visual culture, material culture, indigeneity, capitalism,  aesthetics, fashion and design studies, ethnographic documentary, Peru, Andes, Latin America
Jon Anjaria

Jonathan Shapiro Anjaria

Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Director of Graduate Studies

janjaria@brandeis.edu

Urban anthropology, ethnographies of citizenship and the state, political ecology; South Asia
Elizabeth Ferry

Elizabeth Emma Ferry

Professor of Anthropology

ferry@brandeis.edu

Economic anthropology, collections, social studies of finance, materiality and value, labor, corporations and business, anthropology of mining and minerals. Mexico, U.S.
Charles Golden

Charles Golden

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Chair of Latin and Latin American Studies

cgolden@brandeis.edu

Archaeology of complex societies, modern contexts of archaeological research, Mesoamerica, the Maya.
Hannig

Anita Hannig

Assistant Professor of Anthropology 

hannig@brandeis.edu

Medical anthropology; the anthropology of religion, gender, and the body; anthropology of death and dying; medical aid-in-dying; Ethiopia; sub-Saharan Africa; United States.
sarah lamb

Sarah Lamb

Professor of Anthropology 

lamb@brandeis.edu

Gender, aging, self and person, medical anthropology, religion, migration and transnationalism, ethnographic writing; South Asia, United States.
janet mcintosh

Janet McIntosh

Professor and Chair of Anthropology

janetmc@brandeis.edu

Linguistic anthropology, language ideology, psychological anthropology, personhood, essentialism, colonialism and postcoloniality, identity, whiteness studies, military studies, nationalism; East Africa and United States.

Pascal Menoret

Renée and Lester Crown Professor in Modern Middle East Studies and Undergraduate Advising Head

pmenoret@brandeis.edu

Urban anthropology, infrastructure, religion, youth politics, Islamism; Arabian Peninsula Middle East
ellen schattschneider 

Ellen Schattschneider

Associate Professor of Anthropology

eschatt@brandeis.edu

Anthropology of religion, psychoanalytic theory, anthropology of the body, East Asia, Japan.
javier urcid

Javier Urcid,

Professor of Anthropology, Jane's Professor of Latin American Studies

urcid@brandeis.edu

Archaeology, complex societies, writing systems, materiality, bioarchaeology; Mesoamerica.