Visiting Faculty

Faculty Contact Information Area of Expertise Office Hours
seal

Jennifer Carballo

Lecturer

jcarballo@brandeis.edu

Archaeology, Mesoamerica. Research focuses on the early villages, cities, and states of central Mexico.

Spring

2016

khan

Faris Khan

Lecturer

khanf@brandeis.edu

Sexuality and gender, queer and transgender studies, identities and subject positions, globalization and transnationalism, activism and social movements, digital and biotechnologies, Pakistan, South Asia.

Tues 1:30 – 3:30

Fri 1:30 – 2:00
hikmet

Hikmet Kocamaner

Lecturer and Junior Research Fellow at the Crown Center for Middle East Studies

hikmet@brandeis.edu

Political anthropology, anthropology of religion and secularism, media anthropology, Islamic politics, kinship, and the politics of the family. Spring 2016
seal

Keridwen Luis

Lecturer

luis@brandeis.edu

Culture theory, women's studies, gender studies, gender theory, nonheternormative sexualities, fandom and fan identity, medical anthropology, anthropology of the body, intentional communities, consciously created culture, folklore and magical practice, personhood, agency, and identity. Wed. 1:00-3:00
Canay Özden-Schilling

Canay Özden-Schilling

Lecturer

ozden@brandeis.edu

Anthropology of Science and Technology; Markets, Business, and Neoliberalism; Energy; Infrastructures; Performativity; Political Economy; North America Spring 2016

Travis Parno

Travis G. Parno

Lecturer

tparno@brandeis.edu

Archaeology, historic house sites, agrarian middle-class America, heritage and museum studies, material culture, smuggling and illegal trade; New England and the West
Indies.

Friday 10:00-12:00

Souleles

Daniel Souleles

Lecturer

dsouleles@brandeis.edu

Value, Time, Cosmologies, Conversion, Finance, Wealth, Poverty, Exchange Theory, Deep History, Symbolic Anthropology, Social Anthropology Tues 2:00--4:00