Visiting Faculty

Faculty Contact Information
Area of Expertise
Office Hours
canning

Emily Canning

Lecturer

canning@brandeis.edu
Linguistic anthropology. Language ideology, ethnicity and nationalism, writing systems, religion. Central Asia, Kyrgyzstan
seal

Keridwen Luis

Lecturer

luis@brandeis.edu

Culture theory, women's studies, gender studies, gender theory, nonheternormative sexualities,
fandom and fan identity, medical anthropology, anthropology of the body, intentional
communities, consciously created culture, folklore and magical practice, personhood, agency, and identity.
moises

Moises Lino e Silva

Lecturer, Joint appointment with Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

moises@brandeis.edu
Brazilian urban life, favelas, the question of freedom in its relationship to wider topics such as poverty, sexuality, religion, violence, social justice, globalization, and linguistic practices. Tuesday 2:30-4:30
Morimoto

Ryo Morimoto

University Prize Instructor

ryo@brandeis.edu
Semiotic anthropology, anthropology of disaster and loss; post-disaster trauma and social/cultural changes in relationship to the politics of memory; relationship between semiology and semiotics; Japan.

Travis Parno

Travis G. Parno

Lecturer

tparno@brandeis.edu
Archaeology, historic house sites, agrarian middle-class America, heritage and museum studies, material culture, smuggling and illegal trade; New England and the West
Indies.

Tuesday 12:00-2:00

Sweigart

Leigh Swigart

Lecturer

swigart@brandeis.edu
Linguistic anthropology, African languages and international justice,
the international judiciary, African urban speech varieties, US
immigration and refugee resettlement from Africa.
Click