Research Scholars


Faculty Area of Expertise

George N. Appell

Senior Visiting Research Scholar

Social anthropology; Insular Southeast Asia, in particular Borneo ethnography; emergent nature of social systems; property relations and land tenure; social change and the processes of bio-social adaptation; indigenous oral literature; the ethics of anthropological inquiry; human rights and development; epistemological issues in social anthropological inquiry; female roles and rights. 

Mark Auslander

Visiting Research Scholar
auslanderm@cwu.edu

Sociocultural anthropology; museums and memory work, ritual and globalization, art and aesthetics; Africa and the African diaspora.

Eileen Dryden

Visiting Research Scholar
edryden@challiance.org

Applied anthropology, evaluation anthropology, community-based participatory research and evaluation, environmental anthropology, conservation and sustainable development, Mexico and the United States.

James Herron

Visiting Research Scholar
jherron@fas.harvard.edu

Linguistic anthropology. Pragmatics and social interaction. Political economy. Bureaucracy and the state. Latin America. Andes. Colombia.

Justeen Hyde

Visiting Research Scholar
jhyde@challiance.org

Cultural constructions of risk, medicalization of social problems, adolescence, child welfare institutions, community-based participatory research and evaluation, politics of public health.

Caitrin Lynch

Visiting Research Scholar
caitrin.lynch@olin.edu

Cultural anthropology, gender, labor, nationalism, and globalization; South Asia (specifically, postcolonial Sri Lanka) and the United States.

Megan McCullough

Visiting Research Scholar
mmccull@brandeis.edu

Medical anthropology. Cross-cultural understandings of the body, anthropological approaches to reproduction, indigenous people and health disparities, urban indigenous people, gender, kinship and social networks, exchange, and personhood.

Ellen Messer

Visiting Research Scholar
messere@brandeis.edu
Biocultural and policy-engaged anthropology. Study of food, security, religion, and human rights with special ethnographic emphasis on Latin America.

Charles Ziegler, PhD'83

Senior Visiting Research Scholar

Industrial and applied anthropology. Click to view his Curriculum Vitae.