Make-up examinations

Spring term 2011
September 7, 8, and 12, 2011.

Religious Observance Policy

In constructing the academic calendar, religious holy days will not be the sole factor in determining days on which classes will be held or suspended.

It is the policy of the University, however, that students be encouraged to observe their appropriate religious holy days; that instructors strive to facilitate this by allowing absence from classes for such purposes and by trying to insure that no examinations, written reports, oral reports or other mandatory class assignments are scheduled for or due on such holy days; and that instructors provide ample opportunities for such students to make up work missed on such occasions without penalty. Jewish holidays begin at sundown of the previous evening and end at nightfall of the day listed.

Fall Term 2011


Tuesday, Aug. 16 — Thursday, Sept. 15 Registration period for graduate and undergraduate students.
Sunday, Aug. 28 Residence halls open for new undergraduate students. [NOTE: Changed to Monday, Aug 29th due to weather conditions.]
Monday, Aug. 29 Residence halls open for new undergraduate students.
Tuesday, Aug. 30
Residence halls open for returning students.
Thursday, Sept. 1
First day of instruction.
Monday, Sept. 5
Labor Day: No university exercises, staff holiday.
Thursday, Sept. 15 Last day to add classes. All work for spring term 2011 undergraduate incompletes due to instructors. Last day for seniors graduating in Dec. to declare or drop a major or minor.
Thursday, Sept. 22
Grades replacing spring 2011 graduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Thursday, Sept. 22
Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to request a P grade for the preceding term. Grades replacing spring 2011 undergraduate incompletes due in the University Registrar's Office.
Wednesday, Sept. 28 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module I courses to audit (instructor’s and chair’s permission required).
Thursday, Sept. 29 — Friday, Sept. 30
Rosh Hashanah: No university exercises.
Monday, Oct. 10 Columbus Day: Classes in session, staff holiday.
Tuesday, Oct. 11 Brandeis Thursday: Thursday class schedule in effect.
Thursday, Oct. 13
Sukkot: No university exercises
Monday, Oct. 17 Brandeis Thursday: Thursday class schedule in effect.
Tuesday, Oct. 18 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Thursday, Oct. 20
Shmini Atzeret: No University exercises.
Monday, Oct. 24 Undergraduate midterm grades due.
Tuesday, Nov. 1 – Monday, Nov. 7
Registration period for spring term 2012.
Tuesday, Nov. 1
Fall Module I grades due.
Tuesday, Nov. 8
Last day to add Module II classes.
Wednesday, Nov. 16 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required). Last day for graduate students to drop courses or change grading option of classes to audit (instructor's and chair's permission required).
Wednesday, Nov. 23 – Friday, Nov. 25 Thanksgiving holiday: No university exercises, staff holiday Thursday and Friday.
Monday, Dec. 12
Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the term (written notification required).
Tuesday, Dec. 13
Study day.
Wednesday, Dec. 14 – Wednesday, Dec. 21
Final examination period.
Thursday, Dec. 22 at 12 noon Residence halls close.
Friday, Dec. 23 Fall term grades due.
Friday, Dec. 30 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current term pass/fail enrollments to a "P."