School of Arts and Sciences

Lerman-Neubauer Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring

The Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer '69 and Joseph Neubauer Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring honors an individual — typically a tenure, full-time faculty member — who is involved in the cocurricular and extracurricular life of the campus and, more importantly, has had a significant impact on students' lives as an exceptional teacher, mentor, adviser and friend.

The $5,000 prize is presented annually at the April faculty meeting.

Faculty, staff, students, and alumni are invited to submit nominations. The recipient is selected by the Dean of Arts and Sciences upon the recommendation of a committee that includes two students appointed by the Student Union and two previous Lerman-Neubauer recipients in consultation with the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. Decisions are based on nomination letters, teaching evaluations, Faculty Activity Reports and CVs. Nominations are due in March 1 of each year.

2023 Recipient

Janet McIntosh

Janet McIntosh

Professor of Anthropology

Nominator Comments

  • "Prof. McIntosh's passion for the subject is visible and contagious. It personally made me want to read and know more than was required for her class and go to office hours to discuss what I had learned and what I wanted to understand better. Her class also made me seriously consider Anthropology as my future major."
  • "I haven't seen such openness, receptivity, and humility from a teacher before. The feeling that is left is that she actively looks for ways to make the experience better and to make the class and learning experience best for us.... I recommend anyone to take a class with Janet. She inspires me to be better."
  • "Janet is an excellent professor. She is incredibly patient and encouraging, and I’ve often seen her help people to better understand their own ideas without any hint of harshness or criticism. I am a better scholar because of Janet McIntosh."

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Department(s)
2022 Jill Greenlee Politics
2021 Govind Sreenivasan History
2020 Michael Willrich History
2019 Elizabeth Brainerd Economics; Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
2018 Aparna Baskaran Physics
2017 Adrianne Krstansky Theater Arts
2016 Sarah Lamb Anthropology
2015 Jané Kondev Physics
2014 Marion Smiley Philosophy
2013 Don Katz Psychology
2012 Timothy Hickey Computer Science
2011 Richard Gaskins American Studies, Legal Studies
2010 Elizabeth Emma Ferry Anthropology
2009 David Rakowski Music
2008 Leonard Muellner Classical Studies
2007 David Cunningham Sociology
2006 Ann Koloski-Ostrow Classical Studies
2005 Ibrahim Sundiata African and Afro-American Studies; History
2004 Thomas King English, American Literature
2003 William Flesch English, American Literature
2002 Chandler Fulton Biology
2001 Jane Hale Romance and Comparative Literature
2000 Robert Szulkin Germanic, Slavic and East Asian Languages
1999 Barney Schwalberg Economics