Lerman-Neubauer Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring

The Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer '69 and Joseph Neubauer Prize for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring honors an individual — typically a tenure, full-time faculty member — who is involved in the cocurricular and extracurricular life of the campus and, more importantly, has had a significant impact on students' lives as an exceptional teacher, mentor, adviser and friend.

The prize, which carries a stipend of $5,000, is presented annually at the April faculty meeting

All undergraduates are invited to submit nominations by the deadline. The recipient is selected by the Dean of Arts and Sciences upon the recommendation of a committee that includes two students appointed by the Student Union and two previous Lerman-Neubauer recipients in consultation with the Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education. Decisions are based on nomination letters, teaching evaluations, Faculty Activity Reports and CVs. Nominations are due by March 12, 2021.

2020 Recipient

Elizabeth Brainerd

Michael Willrich
Leff Families Professor of History

Nominator Comments

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Department(s)
2019 Elizabeth Brainerd Economics; Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
2018 Aparna Baskaran Physics
2017 Adrianne Krstansky Theater Arts
2016 Sarah Lamb Anthropology
2015 Jané Kondev Physics
2014 Marion Smiley Philosophy
2013 Don Katz Psychology
2012 Timothy Hickey Computer Science
2011 Richard Gaskins American Studies, Legal Studies
2010 Elizabeth Emma Ferry Anthropology
2009 David Rakowski Music
2008 Leonard Muellner Classical Studies
2007 David Cunningham Sociology
2006 Ann Koloski-Ostrow Classical Studies
2005 Ibrahim Sundiata African and Afro-American Studies; History
2004 Thomas King English, American Literature
2003 William Flesch English, American Literature
2002 Chandler Fulton Biology
2001 Jane Hale Romance and Comparative Literature
2000 Robert Szulkin Germanic, Slavic and East Asian Languages
1999 Barney Schwalberg Economics