Faculty

Name Contact Area of Expertise
aparna Aparna Baskaran
Abelson 306
(781) 736-2866
aparna@brandeis.edu
Nonequilibrium statistical mechanics, biophysics. Also see Baskaran Group.
bulbul Bulbul Chakraborty
Abelson 345/346
(781) 736-2843
bulbul@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory, especially systems far from equilibrium; glassy dynamics in supercooled liquids; granular media and the jamming of granular flows; modelling the dynamical instability in microtubules. Also see Chakraborty Group.
zvonimir dogic Zvonimir Dogic
Abelson 222
(781) 736-2167
zdogic@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids and biological physics; understanding and controling the self-assembly of matter on a colloidal length scale; assembly, phase transitions and dynamics of colloidal systems under nonequilibrium conditions.
seth fraden Seth Fraden
Abelson 214
(781) 736-2888
fraden@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids: interparticle interactions and phase transitions in colloidal suspensions; entropy driven disorder-to-order transitions; physics of protein crystallization and the development of microfluidic-based, high-throughput crystallization devices
Jeff Gelles Jeff Gelles
Kosow-Wolfson 208
(781) 736-2377
gelles@brandeis.edu
Macromolecular motion, motor enzymes, visualization of nanometer-scale movements and individual chemical reactions in single enzyme molecules.
Bruce Goode Bruce Goode
Rosenstiel 532
(781) 736-2451
goode@brandeis.edu
Cell mobility, endocytosis, vesicle and organelle transport, and cytokinesis. Study of actin cytoskeleton regulation and functional cooperation of cytoskeletal elements.
hagan Michael Hagan
Abelson 347
(781) 736-2845
hagan@brandeis.edu
Quantitative biology. and Hagan Group :Assembly and dynamic pattern formation in biological and biomimetic systems; computational and theoretical methods; viral capsids and other large protein complexes; rational design of novel materials with biomimetic function.
ivanovic Tijana Ivanovic
Rosenstiel 450
ivanovic@brandeis.edu
Fundamental molecular mechanisms of virus translocation across biological membranes: enveloped virus membrane fusion and non-enveloped virus membrane penetration. Single-virion real-time imaging of viral processes, molecular virology, computer simulations. 
Jané kondev Jané Kondev
Abelson 301
(781) 736-2812
kondev@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory; biological physics; mechanical properties of polymers; regulation of gene expression and DNA packing in viruses; effect of confinement and constraints on the equilibrium structure and dynamics of fluctuating lines and surfaces.
robert b. meyer Robert B. Meyer
Abelson 216
(781) 736-2870
meyer@brandeis.edu
Liquid crystals and complex fluids; patterns formed in two-dimensional systems; liquid crystal gels; basic science of these systems and possible practical applications.


Perlman Daniel Perlman
Senior Research Scientist and Inventor  Abelson 215
(781) 736-2428
dperlman@brandeis.edu
Dan Perlman has authored or co-authored over 100 published patents and pending patents since arriving at Brandeis. Evolving from the role of NIH-sponsored basic research scientist, Dan as a University Senior Scientist, moved into applied research.  
rodal Avital Rodal
Rosenstiel 528
(781) 736-2459
arodal@brandeis.edu
Neuronal membrane traffic and synapse morphology. Dissection of multi-protein machines that drive lipid deformation at intracellular compartments.
rogers

Ben Rogers
Abelson 221
(781) 736-2857
wrogers@brandeis.edu

Complex fluids and biological physics; programmable self-assembly of soft materials; colloidal interactions and phase transitions; DNA nanotechnology; self-organization of active matter; optical trapping and single-molecule science.
Wade Casey Wade
Edison-Lecks 116
(781) 736-2827
cwade@brandeis.edu
Inorganic, organometallic, and materials synthesis; study of site-isolated reactive sites for catalyst design and aqueous ion separation/remediation with porous materials.
Bing Xu

Bing Xu
Edison-Lecks EL320
(781) 736-5201
bxu@brandeis.edu

Materials Chemistry; biomaterials; polymer chemistry and surface chemistry; synthesis and fabrication of functional molecular nanomaterials. >>Research group
 
 
Bausch Andreas Bausch
TU Munich
+49 (89) 289-12480
abausch(at)mytum.de
Cellular biophysics; identification and physical characterization of new biomimetic materials.
Blair Daniel Blair
Georgetown University
(202) 687-5985
dlb76@georgetown.edu
Soft condensed matter physics
Breuer

Kenneth Breuer
Brown University
(401) 863-2870
kbreuer@brown.edu

Fluid mechanics, covering a wide range of topics including the physics of micron and nanoscale flows, the mechanics of animal locomotion, specifically, mammalian flight, and bacterial motility, the behavior and control of turbulent shear flows and renewable energy technologies.
Dietz Hendrik Dietz
TU Munich
+49 (89) 289-11615
dietz@tum.de
Biomolecular nanotechnology
Dinsmore Anthony Dinsmore
UMass Amherst
(413) 545-3786
dinsmore@physics.umass.edu
Soft Condensed Matter and Nanoscale Self-Assembly (experimental)
Oldenbourg Rudolf Oldenbourg
Marine Biology Lab (Woods hole)
(508) 289-7426
rudolfo@mbl.edu
The study of architectural dynamics in living cells. Development of  a new microsope for the analysis of molecular order directly in living cells with unprecedented sensitivity, resolution and speed.
Pelcovits Robert Pelcovits
Brown University
(401) 863-1432
robert_pelcovits@brown.edu
Theoretical liquid crystal physics, including large-scale simulations on parallel machines and scientific visual animations.
Powers Thomas Powers
Brown University
(401) 863-2868

Physics of soft matter, molecular and cellular biomechanics, and nonlinear dynamics.
Rama Sriram Ramaswamy
Tata Inst. Fund. Research, India
+91 (40) 2419-5003
sriram@tifrh.res.in
Nonequilibrium, soft-matter and biological physics