Brandeis Library Faculty Advisory Council


The Brandeis Library Faculty Advisory Committee gives Faculty an active voice in library-related issues on campus. The Library Faculty Advisory Committee is a two-way forum for information exchange between Faculty and the Brandeis Library.


  • Review and provide feedback on current and future library services. Provide a channel for concerns and suggestions from the community.
  • Review and provide feedback on current and proposed policies, and standards.
  • Fully understanding the resources of the Brandeis Library, discuss and seek to resolve issues, which span departmental or divisional boundaries. 
  • Provide direction to prevent, where appropriate, unnecessary redundancy or non-sustainable implementations and their resulting inefficiencies and risks.
  • When necessary, solicit information and assistance from other campus stakeholder as needed.


The membership of this Council includes representation from applicable University departments and schools, including:

Member Role
Matthew Sheehy University Librarian - Chair
Gannit Ankori Arts & Science Division, Creative Arts Representative
Jason Bernard Brandeis International Business School Representative
Irina Dubanina Faculty Director, Center for Teaching and Learning
David Katz Faculty Senate Representative
Laura Miller Arts & Sciences Division, Social Sciences Representative
Robin Miller Arts & Sciences Division, Humanities Representative
Olga Papaemmanouil Arts & Sciences Division Representative
Cindy Thomas Heller School Representative 
Vacant Arts & Sciences Division, Science Representative

Contact Us

For more information, to ask questions, or to suggest agenda topics for the council to consider, contact Matthew Sheehy at