Office of the Provost

Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities

VI.D.2.d. The Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities

  1. The Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities, acting on behalf of the faculty, interprets provisions of the Faculty Handbook. Under the circumstances described herein, it renders judgments concerning faculty rights and responsibilities (see section VII.A) and appeals arising out of faculty salary grievances (see section VII.B); disciplinary actions (see section VII.C); and appointment, tenure and promotion procedures (see section V.A.4.b.vii).

  2. The committee is composed of seven members, five of whom hold tenure at the time of appointment, and three alternates, not more than two of whom hold tenure at the time of appointment.

  3. Four members of the committee, three of whom hold tenure, are appointed by the Faculty Senate. The provost appoints three members of the committee, two of whom hold tenure. The Faculty Senate and the provost together appoint the three alternate members. No department chair or equivalent, incumbent academic dean, member of the Faculty Senate Council, faculty representative to the Board of Trustees, or member of the Committee on Strategy and Planning or the Committee on Academic Standards and Policy may be appointed to the Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities. Members of the committee appointed or elected to any of these positions must relinquish their membership on the committee.

  4. Members of the committee and their alternates are appointed for terms of not less than two years and not more than five years. Members and their alternates may be reappointed.

  5. No member of the committee may participate in any proceeding in which he or she has a personal or professional conflict of interest. In the event of the recusal or unavailability of a committee member for other reasons, an alternate of the committee will participate as required.

  6. All deliberations of the committee are confidential.

  7. The chair of the committee is elected by the committee from among its tenured members.

  8. The committee determines rules of procedure not otherwise specified herein.

  9. The committee will receive training at the beginning of their term.

2023-24 Members

  • Susan J. Birren, Biology (2022-2024) [chair]
  • Susan Eaton, Heller School (2022-2025)
  • Reuven Kimelman, Near Eastern and Judaic Studies (2022-2025)
  • Adrianne Krstansky, Theater Arts (2022-2025)
  • Klaus Schmidt-Rohr, Chemistry (2022-2025)
  • Chad Williams, African and African American Studies (2023-2026)
  • Grace Zimmerman, International Business School (2021-2024)


  • Robert Duff, Music (2022-2024)
  • Govind Sreenivasan, History (2023-2026)
  • Pu Wang, German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature (2023-2026)