Faculty


Full-time Faculty

  Faculty / Contact  Areas of Expertise

james pustejovsky

James Pustejovsky
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Professor and Chair
Volen 258
(781) 736-2709
jamesp@cs.brandeis.edu

Theoretical and computational linguistics; artificial intelligence and machine learning; corpus linguistics and annotation; lexical semantics; temporal and spatial reasoning.

lotus goldberg

Lotus Goldberg
Ph.D., McGill University
Assistant Professor, Undergraduate Advising Head,
CL MA Advising Chair
Volen 134
(781) 736-3265
lmgold@brandeis.edu

Theoretical syntax and the syntax-semantics interface; ellipsis and null anaphora; morphosyntax; structure of Modern Hebrew and other Semitic languages; corpus linguistics.

sophia malamud

Sophia Malamud
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Associate Professor
Volen 137
(781) 736-2225
smalamud@brandeis.edu

Formal semantics and pragmatics; corpus linguistics; speech acts; game and decision theory; reference and information structure; modality; impersonals and passives; heritage language acquisition.

nianwen xue

Nianwen Bert Xue
Ph.D., University of Delaware
Assistant Professor
Volen 136
(781) 736-2728
xuen@brandeis.edu

Computational linguistics; Chinese language processing; Semantic role labeling; machine translation and linguistic annotation, including Chinese Treebank, Chinese Proposition Bank, OntoNotes.

Additional Faculty

  Faculty / Contact  Areas of Expertise

marie meteer

Marie Meteer
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
mmeteer@mac.com

Computational linguistics; natural language processing; speech recognition.

ben wellner

Ben Wellner
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
wellner@cs.brandeis.edu

Machine learning, computational linguistics, statistical natural language processing.

keith plaster

Keith Plaster
J.D., Georgetown University
M.A., Harvard University
Ph.D. Candidate, Harvard University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
kplaster@brandeis.edu

Phonological theory, historical linguistics, morphology, heritage linguistics.

david tresner-kirsch

David Tresner-Kirsch
M.A., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
dwkirsch@gmail.com

Computational linguistics, machine translation, medical informatics, healthcare technology.

peter anick

Peter Anick
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Lecturer
Volen 256
(781) 736-2726
panick@brandeis.edu

Information retrieval, information extraction, natural language processing, medical informatics.

marc verhagen

Marc Verhagen
Ph.D., Brandeis University
Senior Research Scientist
Volen 110
(781) 736-2745
marc@cs.brandeis.edu

Computational linguistics; corpus annotation and machine learning; temporal relation identification.