Regulations, Fees and Fines

The following parking regulations have been adopted to promote the safety and convenience of the entire community, and allow for maximum and efficient use of our parking facilities. All rules and regulations are strictly enforced.

A full list of parking and traffic regulations is available.

Student Parking

All students must have a parking decal visible on their vehicles at all times on their vehicles. Students that do not purchase a decal or temporary pass cannot park on campus at any time, including the weekends. Students may apply for a motor vehicle permit at the beginning of the school year. Only resident juniors and seniors may have a vehicle on campus. All commuter students are eligible to apply for a motor vehicle parking permit.

Parking regulations are in effect from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m from Monday through Friday, except for university holidays. University holidays are those recognized as staff holidays. If staff is here, even if there are no classes, parking rules are in effect. Overnight parking from 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. is prohibited in faculty and staff lots.

Toggle
Resident Students
  • $250 per year
  • Parking in Foster Residence (FR permit), South Residence (SR permit) and Charles River (CR permit) lots only

Apply for Motor Vehicle Permit

Toggle
Commuter Students
  • $120 per year
  • Parking in Athletics and Theater (CO permit) and Chapels (CH permit) lots only

Apply for Motor Vehicle Permit

Toggle
Out of State Students
Massachusetts requires all out of state students operating a motor vehicle to either register the vehicle in the Commonwealth (display Massachusetts registration plates) or display a nonresident permit. Public Safety will issue a nonresident permit along with the motor vehicle permit at no additional charge. The owner of the vehicle must maintain Massachusetts-mandated insurance coverage of the vehicle.

Employee Parking

All university employees who would like to park their car in a campus lot must register their vehicle. Parking decals are issued in-person in the Stoneman Building, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. Campus parking lots and decals are color coded; privileges are based on your campus office location.

Apply for Motor Vehicle Permit

Violations and Fines

All fines are payable to Brandeis University within thirty (30) calendar days after the date of violations. Payments may be made in person at the Public Safety Office or by mailing a check, money order or postal note to Brandeis University, Public Safety Department, MS 066, Waltham, MA 02454.

Failure to pay fines within the thirty (30) calendar days' notice will result in additional fee. Nonpayment outstanding tickets will result in the immediate suspension of parking privileges and may result in complaints being issued against the registered owner and operator of the vehicle through the Student Judicial Board, Office of Human Resources or Waltham District Court. Students with outstanding parking fines will have their outstanding balances automatically forwarded to the student account office for collection.

Three or more unpaid violations can result in the vehicle being towed or otherwise immobilized by a mechanical device at the expense of the registered owner.

Parking Violations

Group A
Violation Fine
Obstructing a fire lane, fire exit or fire hydrant $50
Violation of snow-emergency policy $25
Unauthorized parking in a handicapped area $50
Obstructing a building entrance/exit $25
Blocking a) stairway, b) ramp, c) gate, d) loading zone, e) driveway, f) dumpster or g) crosswalk $25
Unauthorized overnight parking $25
Group B
Violation Fine
Blocking other vehicles or traffic $25
Parking on an access lane $20
Double parking $20
Failure to register $25
Community parking ban $15
Group C
Violation Fine
Excessive speed $25
Driving to endanger, improper operation $25
Operating vehicle in violation of a posted one-way $20
Failure to make a full stop at a stop sign or traffic-control signal $20
Failure to stop for a university police officer $20
Removing, tampering with, changing, mutilating or destroying any traffic-control sign, signal, barricade, university marker, traffic citation or vehicle permit $50
Driving or parking on lands not meant for vehicular use $25
Leaving the scene of an accident $25
Group D
Violation Fine
Parking in a controlled area without displaying a proper permit $20
No parking $20
Taking up more than one legal parking space $15
Violating of tow/immobilization notice $15

Registration Violations

Violation Fine
Falsification of university vehicle registration information $100
Using fictitious, falsely made or altered university vehicle registration decal or permit $100
Loaning a registered motor vehicle to an individual who is not eligible to operate a motor vehicle $100
Operation of a motor vehicle by an individual not eligible to operate a motor vehicle $100