Department of English

Christopher Castellani

Christopher Castellani

Writer in Residence

Christopher Castellani is the author of four novels, including "All This Talk of Love" (2013) — a New York Times Editors' Choice — "A Kiss from Maddalena" (2003) — winner of the Massachusetts Book Award — and "The Saint of Lost Things" (2005), a BookSense (IndieBound) Notable Book. His book of essays on the craft of fiction, "The Art of Perspective: Who Tells the Story," was published by Graywolf in 2016.

His most recent novel, "Leading Men," for which he received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, MacDowell, and the Massachusetts Cultural Council, was published in February 2019. "Leading Men" has been optioned for film by Peter Spears and Luca Guadagnino ("Call Me By Your Name, Nomadland") with a screenplay adaptation by Matthew Lopez ("The Inheritance").

Christopher is on the faculty of the Warren Wilson College Low-Residency MFA program and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference. He is also the Chair of the Writing Panel for the National YoungArts Foundation. In 2015, he was awarded the Barnes and Noble/Poets & Writers "Writer for Writers" Award in recognition of his contributions to the literary community and his generosity toward fellow writers. Christopher was educated at Swarthmore College, received his Masters in English Literature from Tufts University, and a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Boston University. He lives in Boston and Provincetown.

 Read more about Christopher in Publishers Weekly (2018 and 2013).


Leading Men book cover
  • "Leading Men" (novel), Viking, 2019
  • "The Art of Perspective: Who Tells the Story" (essays). Graywolf, 2016
  • "All This Talk of Love" (novel), Algonquin, 2013
  • "The Living" (short story), Ploughshares, 2013
  • "The Saint of Lost Things" (novel), Algonquin, 2005
  • "A Kiss from Maddalena" (novel), Algonquin, 2003


  • Artist Fellowship, St. Botolph Club (2017)
  • Massachusetts Cultural Council Level I Fellowship (2016)
  • Barnes & Noble / Poets & Writers "Writer for Writers" Award (2015)
  • Guggenheim Fellowship in Fiction (2015)
  • MacDowell Fellowship (2014)
  • Massachusetts Book Award Winner: "A Kiss from Maddalena" (2004)