Divisions / Departments

The School of Arts and Sciences comprises 23 academic departments, organized under four academic divisions.

Division of Creative Arts

Programs dedicated to the belief that art is a vital aspect of the human condition and an essential component of interdisciplinary learning.

Department Chair/Director Director of Graduate Studies Administrator
Fine Arts
Peter Kalb and Susan Lichtman  Ariel Freiberg, Susan Lichtman Christine Dunant Kahn
Music Karen Desmond Musicology: Emily Frey; Music Composition and Theory: David Rakowski Mark Kagan
Theater Arts Dmitry Troyanovsky N/A Alicia Hyland

Division of Humanities

Engages the ideas, texts, images and language cultures that have shaped human experience across time and place.

Department Chair/Director Director of Graduate Studies Administrator
Classical Studies Joel Christensen Caitlin Gillespie David DeVore
English John Burt Ulka Anjaria Lisa Pannella
German, Russian and Asian Languages and Literature Robin Miller Yu Feng Rocky Ludden
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies Eugene Sheppard Laura Jockusch Joanne Arnish
Philosophy Jerry Samet Umrao Sethi Julie Seeger
Romance Studies Fernando Rosenberg N/A Katie Dickinson

Division of Science

Combines world-class research with a first-rate liberal arts education in an intimate setting where faculty and students work closely.

Department Chair/Director Director of Graduate Studies Administrator
Biochemistry Dan Oprian Dagmar Ringe Maryanna Aldrich
Biology Liz Hedstrom PhD: Mike Marr; MS: Maria Miara Heather Felton
Chemistry Barry Snider Tom Pochapsky Meghan Hennelly
Computer Science Tim Hickey (interim) Computer Science: Nianwen Xue; Computational Linguistics: Lotus Goldberg Michael Golitsyn
Mathematics Joel Bellaiche Olivier Bernardi Catherine Broderick
Physics Albion Lawrence Matthew Headrick Joan Thorne
Psychology Donald Katz PhD: Angela Gutchess; MA: Xiadong Liu Phil Gnatowski

Division of Social Sciences

Provides students with the skills and perspectives they will need to become engaged citizens and discerning consumers of information.

Department Chair/Director Director of Graduate Studies Administrator
African and African American Studies Chad Williams N/A Betsy Loren Plumb
Anthropology Janet McIntosh Javier Urcid Laura Woolf
Economics Betsy Brainerd N/A Leslie Yancich
History Michael Willrich Amy Singer Dona DeLorenzo
Politics Eva Bellin Jill Greenlee Rosanne Colocouris
Sociology Laura Miller Laura Miller Cheryl Hansen
Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies ChaeRan Freeze Keridwen Luis Alix Brandon