Faculty

MRSEC Primary Participants

Name Contact Area of Expertise
Aparna Baskaran Aparna Baskaran
IRG2 co-leader
Abelson 306
(781) 736-2866
aparna@brandeis.edu
Nonequilibrium statistical mechanics, biophysics. Also see Baskaran Group.
Breuer

Kenneth Breuer
IRG2
Brown University
(401) 863-2870
kbreuer@brown.edu

Fluid mechanics, covering a wide range of topics including the physics of micron and nanoscale flows, the mechanics of animal locomotion, specifically, mammalian flight, and bacterial motility, the behavior and control of turbulent shear flows and renewable energy technologies.
Bulbul Chakraborty Bulbul Chakraborty
IRG1, IRG2
Abelson 345/346
(781) 736-2843
bulbul@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory, especially systems far from equilibrium; glassy dynamics in supercooled liquids; granular media and the jamming of granular flows; modelling the dynamical instability in microtubules. Also see Chakraborty Group.
Dinsmore Anthony Dinsmore
IRG1
UMass Amherst
(413) 545-3786
dinsmore@physics.umass.edu
Soft Condensed Matter and Nanoscale Self-Assembly (experimental)
zvonimir dogic Zvonimir Dogic
IRG1 co-leader, IRG2
zdogic@physics.ucsb.edu
Research Associate Professor
Complex fluids and biological physics; understanding and controling the self-assembly of matter on a colloidal length scale; assembly, phase transitions and dynamics of colloidal systems under nonequilibrium conditions.
Guillaume Duclos Guillaume Duclos
IRG2
Abelson 222
gduclos@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids and biological physics; understanding the emergence of collective behaviors;  self-organization and dynamics of active complex fluids; liquid crystal physics and soft matter physics;  cell coordination. See also Duclos group.
Todd Emrick Todd Emrick
Seed Chemomechanics
UMass Amherst
(413) 577-1613
tsemrick@mail.pse.umass.edu
Soft materials chemistry and synthesis, interfacial interactions of nanoscale and polymer materials in liquids and gels, responsive surfaces and interfaces.
Irving Epstein Irving R. Epstein
Seed Chemomechanics
(781) 736-2503
epstein@brandeis.edu
Oscillatory chemical reactions, spatial pattern formation, dynamical systems and neurobiology.
Seth Fraden Seth Fraden
IRG2, Seeds Chemomechanics, Limited Assembly, SciLinkr
Abelson 214
(781) 736-2888
fraden@brandeis.edu
Complex fluids: interparticle interactions and phase transitions in colloidal suspensions; entropy driven disorder-to-order transitions; physics of protein crystallization and the development of microfluidic-based, high-throughput crystallization devices
Jeff Gelles Jeff Gelles
IRG2
Kosow-Wolfson 208
(781) 736-2377
gelles@brandeis.edu
Macromolecular motion, motor enzymes, visualization of nanometer-scale movements and individual chemical reactions in single enzyme molecules.
Bruce Goode Bruce Goode
IRG2
Rosenstiel 532
(781) 736-2451
goode@brandeis.edu
Cell mobility, endocytosis, vesicle and organelle transport, and cytokinesis. Study of actin cytoskeleton regulation and functional cooperation of cytoskeletal elements.
Greg Grason Greg Grason
IRG1, Seed Limited Assembly
UMass Amherst
(413) 577-1611
grason@mail.pse.umass.edu
Soft matter theory; self-assembly in soft matter and polymers; filamentous matter; geometrically-frustrated assembly; hierarchical block copolymer ordering
Michael Hagan Michael Hagan
IRG1, IRG2 co-leader, Seed Limited Assembly
Abelson 350
(781) 736-2845
hagan@brandeis.edu
Quantitative biology and Hagan Group. Assembly and dynamic pattern formation in biological and biomimetic systems; computational and theoretical methods; viral capsids and other large protein complexes; rational design of novel materials with biomimetic function.
Ryan Hayward Ryan Hayward
Seed Chemomechanics
UMass Amherst
(413) 577-1317
rhayward@mail.pse.umass.edu
Mechanics of stimuli-responsive and active soft materials; self-assembly of nano-scale structures in multi-component materials
ivanovic Tijana Ivanovic
IRG1
Rosenstiel 450
ivanovic@brandeis.edu
Fundamental molecular mechanisms of virus translocation across biological membranes: enveloped virus membrane fusion and non-enveloped virus membrane penetration. Single-virion real-time imaging of viral processes, molecular virology, computer simulations.
Jané Kondev Jané Kondev
IRG2
Abelson 301
(781) 736-2812
kondev@brandeis.edu
Condensed matter theory; biological physics; mechanical properties of polymers; regulation of gene expression and DNA packing in viruses; effect of confinement and constraints on the equilibrium structure and dynamics of fluctuating lines and surfaces.
Pelcovits Robert Pelcovits
IRG1
Brown University
(401) 863-1432
robert_pelcovits@brown.edu
Theoretical liquid crystal physics, including large-scale simulations on parallel machines and scientific visual animations.
Powers Thomas Powers
IRG1, IRG2
Brown University
(401) 863-2868

Physics of soft matter, molecular and cellular biomechanics, and nonlinear dynamics.
rodal Avital Rodal
IRG1 co-leader
Rosenstiel 528
(781) 736-2459
arodal@brandeis.edu
Neuronal membrane traffic and synapse morphology. Dissection of multi-protein machines that drive lipid deformation at intracellular compartments.
Ben Rogers

Ben Rogers
IRG1, Seed Limited Assembly
Abelson 221
(781) 736-2857
wrogers@brandeis.edu

Complex fluids and biological physics; programmable self-assembly of soft materials; colloidal interactions and phase transitions; DNA nanotechnology; self-organization of active matter; optical trapping and single-molecule science.
Jennifer Ross Jennifer Ross
IRG2
UMass Amherst
(413) 545-2399
rossj@physics.umass.edu
Biophysics; active matter; biomaterials; microtubules; microtubule-associated proteins and enzymes; motor proteins; enzymes; binding kinetics; single molecule imaging; total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy
Christian Santangelo Christian Santangelo
Seed Limited Assembly
UMass Amherst
(413) 545-2099
csantang@physics.umass.edu
Bing Xu

Bing Xu
IRG1
Edison-Lecks EL320
(781) 736-5201
bxu@brandeis.edu

Materials Chemistry; biomaterials; polymer chemistry and surface chemistry; synthesis and fabrication of functional molecular nanomaterials. Research group
 

MRSEC Primary International Participants

Name Contact Area of Expertise
Dietz Hendrik Dietz
IRG1
TU Munich
+49 (89) 289-11615
dietz@tum.de
Biomolecular nanotechnology
Rama Sriram Ramaswamy
IRG2
Tata Inst. Fund. Research, India
+91 (40) 2419-5003
sriram@tifrh.res.in
Nonequilibrium, soft-matter and biological physics
 

Secondary Participants

Name Contact Area of Expertise
Bausch Andreas Bausch
IRG2
TU Munich
+49 (89) 289-12480
abausch(at)mytum.de
Cellular biophysics; identification and physical characterization of new biomimetic materials.
Blair Daniel Blair
IRG2
Georgetown University
(202) 687-5985
dlb76@georgetown.edu
Soft condensed matter physics
Demetris Geddis Demetris Geddis
Hampton University
Assistant Dean and Department Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering
demetris.geddis@hamptonu.edu
Integrated Photonics, Micro/Nano Technology
Mohamed Gharbi Mohamed Gharbi
IRG2
UMass Boston
Assistant Professor of Physics
mohamed.gharbi@umb.edu
Research focuses on the design of devices based on the directed assembly of functional nanomaterials and biomaterials within complex fluids; developing new procedures for making hybrid materials with tunable functionalities; discover new mechanisms to create self-assembled structures that can be used in technological applications.
robert b. meyer Robert B. Meyer
IRG1
Abelson 216
(781) 736-2870
meyer@brandeis.edu
Liquid crystals and complex fluids; patterns formed in two-dimensional systems; liquid crystal gels; basic science of these systems and possible practical applications.
Oldenbourg Rudolf Oldenbourg
IRG1
Marine Biology Lab (Woods hole)
(508) 289-7426
rudolfo@mbl.edu
The study of architectural dynamics in living cells. Development of  a new microsope for the analysis of molecular order directly in living cells with unprecedented sensitivity, resolution and speed.
Daniel Perlman Daniel Perlman
Senior Research Scientist and Inventor  Abelson 215
(781) 736-2428
dperlman@brandeis.edu
Dan Perlman has authored or co-authored over 100 published patents and pending patents since arriving at Brandeis. Evolving from the role of NIH-sponsored basic research scientist, Dan as a University Senior Scientist, moved into applied research.  
Kun-Ta Wu Kun-Ta Wu
IRG2
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
(508) 831-6057
kwu@wpi.edu
Self-assembly of DNA and DNA-coated colloids. Self-organization of active matter especially kinesin-driven microtubules. For more details, please see Wu Group.