Foreign Language Credit Forms

Languages Not Taught at Brandeis

If you are proficient in a language not currently taught at Brandeis University (including American Sign Language) and wish to be exempt from the language requirement on the basis of that proficiency:

Should the Registrar’s Office determine that you need to be examined in the language in question, we will help you to contact a competent examiner to take the test. Only students who can show language competence at the intermediate midlevel (according to the ACTFL guidelines) and academic knowledge of required grammar at this level will be exempt.

Languages Taught at Brandeis

If you are proficient in a language taught at Brandeis University and believe that you should be exempt from the university foreign language requirement, you must contact the applicable foreign language department to set up an exemption exam.

Language

Contact

French

Hollie Harder
harder@brandeis.edu
781-736-3195
Shiffman 106

Spanish

Elena González Ros
elenag@brandeis.edu
781-736-2731
Shiffman 113

Italian

Paola Servino
servino@brandeis.edu
781-736-3226
Shiffman 101

German

Kathrin Breuer
kathrinbreuer@brandeis.edu
781-736-3299
Shiffman 210

Russian

Irina Dubinina
idubinin@brandeis.edu
781-736-3223
Shiffman 206

Chinese

Sign up for the Chinese exemption exam. The date of the Fall 2020 exemption test is 10am, Oct.1, EST.

Japanese

Hisae Fujiwara
hfujiwar@brandeis.edu
781-736-2976
Mandel 116

Korean

Eunjo Lee
elee2395@brandeis.edu
781-736-3358
Golding 10

Hebrew

hebrew@brandeis.edu

Arabic

Carl Sharif El-Tobgui
eltobgui@brandeis.edu
781-736-2071
Lown 206

Ancient Greek

Cheryl Walker
cwalker@brandeis.edu
781-736-2190
Mandel 215

Latin

Caitlin Gillespie
cgillespie@brandeis.edu

Examination Information

When you take the exam, you must provide your 8-digit Student ID# to the examiner. Visit your student profile in Workday to view your Student ID#.

After you successfully complete your foreign language exam, the instructor or department administrator will notify the Office of the University Registrar. Student records will be updated within five to seven business days from the date of department notification.

If you have any additional questions regarding this process, please contact the Office of the University Registrar at 781-736-2010 or email registrar@brandeis.edu.